Chef John's Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Wow!! the title to this recipe should be: "Not just another stuffed pepper dish" I added cherry tomatoes at the begging of the recipe to the half onion on the pan and think it was an amazing addition. This recipe is just an amazing combination of ingredients made perfectly. Thanks Chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This is by far the best stuffed pepper recipe I've ever tasted. I made it last night for dinner and I am eating it again right now for lunch! I am the only one in my family who will eat stuffed peppers so I hadn't made them for a long time. I had a craving for them, so I searched for a new recipe. This is a keeper that will go into my recipe box and I will definately be making more often! The fam can go to McDonalds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I made this recipe tonight and it was a big hit. Normally when I make stuffed peppers I brown the meat before mixing it with the rice. This way seems so much better. The filling turned out juicy and I loved the flavor of the sauce. I did make a few changes. I used 1 pound of ground turkey instead of Italian sausage and ground beef because no one in my family likes sausage. Also, I used whatever leftover rice I had in the fridge, it was probably about 1.5 cups cooked. Also, I had half a jar of marinara and so I used plain canned tomato sauce for the rest and a beef bouillon cube plus 1 cup of water for the beef broth. I had enough filling to make 5 generously stuffed peppers (I cut the tops off to stuff them instead of cutting them in half).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
These were the best stuffed peppers we have made. There was so much flavor in the sauce in this recipe. I feel like many of the stuffed pepper recipes we have tried before were rather bland. Not this one. Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Love this recipe. I like a little more spice so I used Rotel instead of regular diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I just don't know to change my screw up. This is my first recipe review on any site. I had to debate a little on whether to rate this a 4 star or a 3 star. In the end I decided to go with the 4 stars because it still was an amazing new take on an old fashion dish that can be a little boring. It was better than the normal, that's for sure. PERSONAL OPINION: The sauce was too greasy for my liking which I explain below. The reason I almost went with the 3 stars is because when I've made this dish in the past, the sauce was mixed in with the hamburger mix and and then stuffed into the pepper. This allowed me the opportunity to drain the excessive oil and fat from the hamburger. In this recipe because it says to pour it into the baking dish, the fat from the meat drains into the sauce. While I know this adds to the flavor of the sauce, it makes for a very heavy and greasy dish. CHANGES FOR THE NEXT ATTEMPT: What I will do next time (and what I recommend for anyone here who wants a lighter dish) is prepare the sauce IN step 4 as usual and after letting it cook for a minute, in step 5, I'll instead just set it off to the side rather than pouring it into the baking dish. This way I can still drain the grease after 45 minutes. Then in step 8, I'll pour the sauce in and let it cook for the last 25 min. I can't imagine it will alter the taste at all but please correct me if I am wrong. A pound of hamburger and 1/4th pound of italian sausa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This was good. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Followed the recipe as written and it's delicious! Will definitely be making this again as everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kol Lujan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Thank you Chef John! These are delicious! I have made them 2x in the last month. Added 14.5oz can of diced tomatos to the sauce; used a 14.5oz can in the meat mixture instead of 10oz. Added both pinch of cayenne pepper & 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper to the meat. Still added 1/4 teaspoon crushed pepper to the sauce. Used 6 red peppers cut in half. Used vegetable broth in place of beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
well it was good but i kinda strayed from the actual recipe. i cut out the pork sausage and just stuck to the lean ground beef and also used chicken broth instead of beef broth. i added corn and chopped celery to my beef mixture and then sprinkled in Italian seasoning, cayenne pepper in place of red pepper flakes and paprika. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States