Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious! I just had regular bacon and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I'm in Shanghai, China and this was a real winner. Easy, flavorful, and unique when servd to Chinese (my wife). I will say that the pancetta or guanciale was not viable based on availability and price. So I used 'French Labon'. Basically unsmoked bacon chunks. Worked perfectly. Also if you up the recipe servings, I recommend sticking with 1 cup to 1 1/2 cups of pasta water. I made an adjustment to 6 servings and it called for 3 cups. I just felt that was too much... I think I was right on target at 1 1/2 cups. I added a bit of garlic powder and doubled the parmigiana cheese. I had no Romano. Again it was great. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
good but tasted a little too "eggy". also too much black pepper for my tastes. would make again before final decision to add to my rotating menu or not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I've always wanted to try carbonara and I am SO happy I did with this recipe. So simple to make and great flavor. Key is the fresh ground black pepper and plenty of it. Love it. Great for a late night snake or late breakfast on a Saturday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was a pretty good basic recipe--everyone liked it (me, Daddy, and the 3 1/2-year-old!), and it is a GREAT way to use up eggs without feeling like you're eating eggs. I only made one change--added some thinly sliced onion (one smallish onion's worth) that I sauteed in the bacon fat--and it was lovely even though I did not give my sauce quite enough time to thicken. I would recommend using the hot pasta water to temper the eggs first if you're having trouble not curdling them. Next time we're also going to try adding greens of some kind, and in the summer will probably drop in some fresh tomato as well. Overall, very good, very kid-friendly, and fairly easy, though you do have to understand how to avoid curdling egg mixes as you heat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Pretty darn good, but not the best pasta ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was a great recipe although I wasn't a huge fan of meat. I will probably make it next time without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it is super tasty and easy and also just because I love Chef John! Love him, love him, love him! Try all his recipes! His Caramel Chicken is great too...and his Pan Seared Mushrooms with Beef Tenderloin...all of it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have been wanting to make this for some time. Glad I did. I watched the video and saw that he used alot of pepper which agrees with me. Add a little white wine if you like,I did and it was a good addition. Be sure to use the one cup of pasta water.It is definately absorbed in the process. It is a great break from spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Best and easiest Carbonara I've ever made...and most authentic! I followed the recipe exactly...except I doubled it. I used pancetta and bacon mixed, and I can't think of one way to improve this recipe. One note, use a large enough Dutch oven to allow easy tossing of all the ingredients at the end when allowing the sauce to thicken. Will make this comforting dish over and over. I love Chef John's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States