Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as written and used Pancetta as recommended by the Chef. It was nothing special. Taste was blah, with the only real flavor coming from the pepper, making for a pretty one-dimensional dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I will be trying this recipe again, because the flavor was there, but it was soupy and didn't at all resemble the photo. I double checked the recipe when I had all this sauce. It did indeed call for 1 cup pasta water, next time, I will add a little at a time, or just 1/4 cup or so. I only added 1/2 teaspoon of pepper and it was more than spicy enough with that small amount. I guess it depends on the amount of heat that you like. As I said flavor was great, otherwise. My husband enjoyed it very much, I just would have preferred it to be drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Thank you chef John for a carbonara recipe without cream. My mom used to make this when I was a kid and I loved it. Unfortunately I didn't get the recipe from her before she died and I have been looking for one like hers. Most recipes I have found use cream and I know my mom did not. Anyway I made Chef Johns recipe but added a couple things like peas, onions and garlic. I also used pancetta for the meat which I believe is very similar to guanciale. Everyone in my family loved it. Give stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Used bacon. Didn't start with as much pepper as the recipe called for but ended up adding probably as much if not more when we ate it. Delicious! Not a low-calorie dish but quick and easy comfort food on a cold night. Served with thin whole wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was pretty good, but had kind of a heavy taste which detracted from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This recipe was good/okay. It was a decent meal, but not on par with Buca di Beppo or what I've had in Europe. Nice try, but I'm still looking for a great carbonara recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Wonderful dish. The video helped a lot also. Added chicken and peas to it (also like adding veges to dishes since my young boys will eat them!) and my husband loved it too. I doubled the pasta but did 3 eggs and eyeballed the water (which I added to the egg mixture to help "cook" it) and it was about 1 cup water that I used. Also I did about 4 oz bacon and about 3-4 oz of pancetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Yummy, used finely diced canadian bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Not impressed. Followed the recipe exactly and it was flavorless, so I added garlic, salt, sauteed onions, even a bit of red pepper flakes. Nothing helped. Definitely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shikadance
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Wonderful, followed the recipe and really love pasta, and not so much red sauces!! This is the best sauce, cause butter and cheese alfredo sauces are not the best for me, I love them, but dont need all the calories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States