Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was so good! I will make this again - even for company. I did put the chops and the sauce in a corning ware dish, cover with tin foil and bake at 350 for a little bit. The flavors are just perfect. The chops turned out very tender. Love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now in the last week and a half, if you can belieive it. The first time because I had the ingredients and the second time becaue my husband begged me to. This recipe, in its simplicity, lends itself to variations. The second time I had no buttermilk, so I used whipping cream and a splash of dry sherry. Just as yummy as Chef John's, only different. His recipes, like his videos, teach you to be confident in your skills, teach you how to trust your instincts and to create meals you will be proud to serve again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
somewhere between 3-4 stars, I cooked as listed except added some mushrooms because 1 onion is clearly not enough and I did not have any more on hand. It should call for at least 2 but could use 3. I served it over butter herb noodles the gravy is good but nothing special, has a sour taste because of the buttermilk probably could use sour cream as well. It needs more seasoning besides the poultry and even though I used thin/med bone-in chops I thought that it was still a bit tough/chewy. Not much to look at on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
great recipe. I put the chops with the sauce in the oven covered and baked for a hour and a half and they turned out great. I also used the same method with beef tips and used beef broth and they also come out great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly and thought this was good, not great. Didn't have the rich flavor that I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I thought Chef John was god's gift to pork chops after making his Pork Chops with Apple Cider glaze. But this one was a miss for me. It struck me as a bit "old person food"-ish. I would add a bay leaf and/or some thyme, and more seasoning because the gravy tasted bland and didn't look particularly appealing on the plate. Maybe this one just isn't my thing. I still love Chef John though. As a present, I want my husband to hire him to come make the Pork Chops with Apple Cider glaze at my house some holiday. Those are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GirlWithTheRedApron
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It was good and easy and the boys cleaned their plates and they are super picky. I didn't have buttermilk so I used whole milk. Tasted great and will surely be cooking again. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is delicious. I had to tweek it a little by adding more seasonings and buttermilk. But overall, I enjoyed this dish and will use this recipe, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I just made this recipe and it turned out great! Never made smothered pork chops in all my years of cooking! I'm 51! But this was ready to follow, I seasoned to my taste. The brown rice and string beans and Cresent rolls! Yummy! Thanks Chef John you are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roulette626

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Really good. My chops were a bit over 1 inch. My ruler's 1 inch and the butcher's 1 inch vary by 1/4 inch (I know it's a man thing). However, I just put them in a smaller pan after doing the sauce, and was able to "smother" them properly. Would NOT change a thing. Cooking times are approximate as Chef John states. I cooked my chops until cooked through and tender - but remember some people - pork chops have a special consistency. They have a little tooth to the bite, and that's as it should be. Oh - being single, I had two large chops, but made the sauce as recipe stated because I knew it would want more. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States