Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This is SO very good. I've made it three times now, first two times making it exactly to Chef John's directions which is worthy of my 5-star rating. A hint: when carmelizing your onions, let them sit in the pan and cook; don't be tempted to stir them up every minute as they won't carmelize well. It takes a while to get the right color so be patient. I let my onions go about 25 minutes to get the right color and consistency, only moving them around maybe once every four to five minutes. Another excellent recipe; thanks very much Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR_LLC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
outstanding.!!! Followed recipe exactly. Some of the best pork chop I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This is delicious and easy.No changes are necessary for it's great as is. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Followed this recipe to a T. It was wonderful and dare I say, the best pan sauce/gravy I have ever made. Make sure you add the drippings from the pork chops and sauté the onions slowly the ENTIRE time required. What you end up with is a gravy to die for. Served it with Chef John's Mashed Potatoes and corn. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This was the best pork chops I have ever tasted. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I used turkey chops instead of pork. They were were a success. My picky eating grand daughter even loved it. My new favorite recipe. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
The only Thing I changed was the seasoning. I used Lowerys and Cavenders seasoning . I'm a southern delight so I made this dish with field peas and snaps and boiled okra along with smoked neck bones as my meat for vegetable seasoning. Rice for the pork steak ,yams, home made corn bread, and smoked turkey legs cooked on low until tender(Wal-mart has the best smoked turkey legs and wings. ) oh and Kool-aide;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy jackson
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Very good. Seasoned my pork chops with the poultry seasoning plus onion powder and paprika. Loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Really great and I followed the recipe as stated. I found it was a lot of work though and would never make this after work - only on the weekend when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States