Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
very good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Another hit Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Yummy chops. Gravy was very dark and tasteful. Nice result for a just a few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The only thing that I did different was that I brined the pork chops in the fridge overnight so to ensure tenderness. Tip: If you don't have a large enough of a skillet: brown the chops in 2 separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was pretty good. I made it exactly as the recipe reads except I used a red onion and two large one inch chops so I had lots of delicious gravy! I'm looking forward to trying more of Chef John's recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Just made this for dinner and WOW! I can't say enough good things, it was fabulous! The only change I made was that I didn't have any buttermilk so I subbed sour cream for a little tang and it still turned out amazing. Served it with buttered noodles and broccoli, delicious! Thanks chef John!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Loved it. Made it with mashed potatoes & steamed mixed veggies. I have a family member who has to eat gluten free so I used so used my own all purpose Gluten free flour mix. I would cut down on the flour because my mix made the gravy very thick. Easily fixed by thinning it out with more chicken stock & buttermilk. Thanks Chef John we really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Best pork chops ever! I usually adapt recipes to taste and what I have on hand but this is a keeper as is. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suz
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
So good! I made this with a bone-in pork steak and let it simmer a bit longer in the gravy while covered loosely with some foil. Nice change from the can of mushroom soup gravy often found. If you don't want to buy buttermilk use the shot of lemon juice in milk trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
It was awesome but my chops were only about 1/2" think should have been in pan less time so was little tough but very tasty. Will save and use this recipe often. Thanks chef john.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States