Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Really good. Since I was making this for kids, I used chili powder instead of cayenne to cut back on the heat. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
tasted good but took a really long time to cook down to a thick consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe is great; full of flavor. Will have to check out more of his recipes! Cathy Cray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've made this recipe twice. The first time as is and it was very good,except I thought a little too sweet. The second time I made it with half the brown sugar and it was just right. You can always count on Chef John's recipes to be good. This is my favorite sloppy joe recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Boy does this recipe bring back memories! I haven't had sloppy joes since I was a kid. Definitely a "retro" kinda meal that dare I say...tastes better than my Mom's! This was so easy and so good - perfect for Sunday football. I doubled the recipe using 96/4 ground beef, one red pepper and one green pepper, half ketchup and half Bennetts Original Chili Sauce along with a generous splash of white wine vinegar, and brown sugar to taste along with the rest of the ingredients. I highly recommend watching Chef John's video. It's only a few minutes long and was very helpful. You really do need to add the water and let it simmer down for at least 30 minutes - and don't be afraid to add the cayenne it really does make a difference but doesn't make it "hot". All I did was keep it warm in a crock pot during the game. I served these on slider rolls with chips and pickles to rave reveiws. Thanks Chef John for another awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Really good flavour. I didn't add the full two cups of water, and it simmered down nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Simply, the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shademaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
In the past, I made sloppy joes with a seasoning packet and a can of tomato paste. Not great, but fast. After making this recipe, I can't go back! It was so much better, both in consistency and flavor. I prepared it just like the recipe stated. My whole family loved it, even the kids. And other than chopping a onion, pepper and garlic, and measuring out a few pantry staple items, there was no prep. Very easy way to make a great weeknight dinner. It is good enough that I plan t make a batch tomorrow to take to a friend recovering from surgery. True comfort food! I can picture making this in large quantities ahead of time for a group meal and rehearing or keeping warm in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Delicious! Perfect recipe to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Who knew sloppy joes could taste this good? I served mine on a seasame seed bun with a slice of American cheese. It sure takes a lot longer than dumping a can of the premade stuff over browned meat, but I found it worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States