Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I've never changed a thing. my family, that is husband, 6 adult children, 18 grandchildren, and even the young great grandchildren love it. I am so glad I came across this recipe. It is a request whenever we get together. I'm just starting another batch for a sick daughter-in-law and family. thank you chef john
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I absolutely loved these sloppy joes. They cooked down very nicely and were not soupy as some folks had suggested. The cayenne pepper turned a childhood favorite into a more adult version. I think the cayenne makes this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
my kids & i really enjoyed this minus the cayenne. won't go back to the can sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, everyone LOVED it! It was pretty simple, the only drawback is the time it takes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Since I like my Joes on the "sweet" side, this was delicious! I liked the fact that these were not laden with heavy tomato sauce, of which I don't care for. Two full cups of water seemed way too much for this recipe. One cup of water seemed to be plenty. Adding more just didn't make any sense. It still took awhile for it to cook down to the consistency I was looking for. The flavors were heaven. Other than a reduction in water, I wouldn't change a thing. I'll never buy a packet or can again. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I don't eat Sloppy Joes but my husband said these were the best and I can make them anytime. He said they tasted even better the next day in his lunch. Thanks Chef John for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, using extra lean ground beef, and I still found these to be too greasy. The flavor was spot on, though. Next time I will drain the ground beef before adding the water and the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is a really good, simple base recipe. I also add about 2 teaspoons of sweet pickle relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I have this simmering on the stove as I am typing this. I have made this several times and it comes out perfect every single time. I use red pepper instead of the green and I reduce the last adding of water to only 1/2 a cup but other than these 2 minor changes, I follow the rest of recipe exactly. This is the only recipe I use since the first time I tried it. You will not be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Love this recipe. We throw a little extra stuff in it (chili powder, cumin, cajun seasoning), but its really good as is! I'm not to big on sweetness, so I omit the sugar, and replace almost all the ketchup with tomato paste. Key to this is LETTING IT SIMMER until thick. Don't add flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States