Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed this recipe, but added some red bell pepper with the green bell pepper. It smelled delicious while cooking, but after 45 minutes on the stove, it was still soupy. I had to turn up the heat and add some cornstarch to thicken it up. I then added the meat to rolled out biscuits, folded them over, sealed them up and baked in the oven for 15 minutes...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
excellent, Best sloppy joe recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Gap, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good, so much better than the stuff in a can, although there is a place for it in a pinch. Like other reviewers said, be sure to let most of the water evaporate before adding ketchup or it will be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This recipe turned out great! I did add chopped celery because my mom always did. Cook it down and it is not sloppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
It was just okay. But I did use a red pepper and ground turkey. Maybe that's why. I'll try again with beef and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I was worried that this recipe didn't call for as much ketchup as the sloppy joes I grew up with, but this is an excellent recipe. Followed directions to a tee, and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
These are really good. The beef is flavored while it's browning (I put not only the onions but also the green peppers in with the browning beef), and because it simmers for so long, the flavors have a chance to meld. I really liked that it wasn't so soupy that the buns melted, but you have to let it cook the full time. Next time, I may make the second addition of water a little less. Thanks, Chef John . . . I won't be looking for a Sloppy Joe recipe anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I did this with previously steamed lentils instead of meat. I used a whole onion and only maybe a half cup of water since I didn't want lentils to go mushy. Also used yellow mustard instead of dijon, bumped up the W to 5-6 good dashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Very tasty. I used ground turkey instead of beef and only added 1/2 cup of water. I also added some additional seasonings such as italian, garlic powder and paprika. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Delicious!! My son came home from college tonight and I made these to welcome him home. I wasn't sure how good they could be with such a simple bunch of ingrediants but they were great. I had them simmering and ready to go while I waited for him to arrive. I popped the buns into the oven to toast while the car was unpacked and served it with a ceasar salad. Voila...he was as happy as a clam and wolfed them down with lots of yumms and comments about not eating caf food. Hubby had 2! There is chocolate cake to complete the night. I made as written but subbed red pepper for green (personal preference) and just one cup of water. This will be my go to recipe. I liked all the ingrediants. Thanks, Chef John. Added: I have made this with ground beef, turkey and chicken. Made it with and without the peppers. Made it scaled with 1, 1 1/2 or 2 lbs of meat. It always comes out great! Serve with toasted buns, a salad or roasted veggies....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States