Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Delicious!! My son came home from college tonight and I made these to welcome him home. I wasn't sure how good they could be with such a simple bunch of ingrediants but they were great. I had them simmering and ready to go while I waited for him to arrive. I popped the buns into the oven to toast while the car was unpacked and served it with a ceasar salad. Voila...he was as happy as a clam and wolfed them down with lots of yumms and comments about not eating caf food. Hubby had 2! There is chocolate cake to complete the night. I made as written but subbed red pepper for green (personal preference) and just one cup of water. This will be my go to recipe. I liked all the ingrediants. Thanks, Chef John. Added: I have made this with ground beef, turkey and chicken. Made it with and without the peppers. Made it scaled with 1, 1 1/2 or 2 lbs of meat. It always comes out great! Serve with toasted buns, a salad or roasted veggies....delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and i must say that it was very good. It does take awhile for the sauce to thicken up and the family was hungry so i couldn't wait (lol) but over all great recipe. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
What can I say? It's yet another Chef John HIT! WE LOVED IT! My son had 2of them last night! If we hadn't already had French fries with our lunch, we would have had tater tots with it! We settled for some coleslaw to accompany it instead DELICIOUS! AND...worth the time it takes to make it. Be patient because I know the amazing smell it creates; just do it. You won't be sorry ;-) Made this again today for my husband. He LOVES it! SCORE! made it as written, let it simmer for over an hour and it was AMAZING!!!! I love Chef John and his creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I tweaked here n there. I did recalculate to 4 servings for 1 lb 91% grnd beef. I think that's fairly lean. Anyway, I salt n peppered the beef as it was being cooked/crumbled down. I also added a bit of Montreal Steak seasoning. I also had 1/3 C of chicken stock I needed to use up so in it went. I eyeballed the onion, grn pepper, worscester, etc. I did reduced the 2/3 cup of water in each application to 1/2 C. I felt the ketchup made it sweet enough for myself so I added a drizzle of molasses to get that flavor profile. Oh, I was lazy so used garlic powder. I think allowing the liquid to cook down is the way to go. I've been trying different recipes here and they were all too 'heavy' with the sauce for my pref. This reminds me of a cross between loose meat and SJ, which I really like! Oh yes, I did add a small amount of pecan liquid smoke as I like that little bit of a smokey flavor. Good stuff - is my go-to 'unsloppy joe' recipe from now on. Uncomplicated and easy, thanks a bunch CJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Quite a nice variation on Sloppy joes! I always love Chef John's stuff and I learned a new thing (about how to get it so it's crumbly). I followed it exactly, but mine turned out soupy which was disappointing and I guess I didn't leave it long enough (even though it was there for about 35 min. pretty much unchanged). Ah well, the flavours were nice, and after I drained a bit of the juices it was quite yummy. I'll try it again sometime to see if I can get the better consistency. Lovely recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Way better than canned sloppy joe or mamwich! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Everyone loved this. I grew up on coal region hamburger bbq which is tangy and tastes like ketchup. This is so much better. I used about 1/2 cup less water than called for but the full amt. would have worked. It just needs to simmer for a bit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These turned out super amazing. The video really helped to point out to let the liquid simmer out. Mine took a little longer to get the required consistency so check the food not the time. I served it on home made buns and they were an instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Wow!! Made it as directed and it was fabulous!! No changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
These had to be the best sloppy joes we have ever had. Followed directions exactly except that I might have had a bit more ground beef than called for and possibly I ran out of ketchup before reaching the required amount but it didn't matter anyway. Served over ciabatta hamburger buns, hubby and I inhaled these last night for dinner. A bit of grated sharp cheddar to top it off. Added to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States