Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
In the past, I made sloppy joes with a seasoning packet and a can of tomato paste. Not great, but fast. After making this recipe, I can't go back! It was so much better, both in consistency and flavor. I prepared it just like the recipe stated. My whole family loved it, even the kids. And other than chopping a onion, pepper and garlic, and measuring out a few pantry staple items, there was no prep. Very easy way to make a great weeknight dinner. It is good enough that I plan t make a batch tomorrow to take to a friend recovering from surgery. True comfort food! I can picture making this in large quantities ahead of time for a group meal and rehearing or keeping warm in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Delicious! Perfect recipe to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Who knew sloppy joes could taste this good? I served mine on a seasame seed bun with a slice of American cheese. It sure takes a lot longer than dumping a can of the premade stuff over browned meat, but I found it worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I agree on the water issue. Way to much. I did only about a cup and a eighth. Still drained some with a slotted spoon. Very good no left overs at three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Schrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This turned out yummy, but it calls for WAY too much water. We only used 1 cup and it took 45-50 mins for it to get close to sloppy joe consistency. We also added more ketchup and Worcestershire sauce towards the end because the water seemed to dilute the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Nickerson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great recipe - hubby loves it! I doubled the ingredients the second time I made it so there would be plenty of leftovers. Also, once the ground beef/onion mixture was well-browned, I drained all of the fat off by pouring the beef mixture into a strainer and letting it sit a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I've never changed a thing. my family, that is husband, 6 adult children, 18 grandchildren, and even the young great grandchildren love it. I am so glad I came across this recipe. It is a request whenever we get together. I'm just starting another batch for a sick daughter-in-law and family. thank you chef john
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I absolutely loved these sloppy joes. They cooked down very nicely and were not soupy as some folks had suggested. The cayenne pepper turned a childhood favorite into a more adult version. I think the cayenne makes this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
my kids & i really enjoyed this minus the cayenne. won't go back to the can sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, everyone LOVED it! It was pretty simple, the only drawback is the time it takes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States