Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This turned out yummy, but it calls for WAY too much water. We only used 1 cup and it took 45-50 mins for it to get close to sloppy joe consistency. We also added more ketchup and Worcestershire sauce towards the end because the water seemed to dilute the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great recipe - hubby loves it! I doubled the ingredients the second time I made it so there would be plenty of leftovers. Also, once the ground beef/onion mixture was well-browned, I drained all of the fat off by pouring the beef mixture into a strainer and letting it sit a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I've never changed a thing. my family, that is husband, 6 adult children, 18 grandchildren, and even the young great grandchildren love it. I am so glad I came across this recipe. It is a request whenever we get together. I'm just starting another batch for a sick daughter-in-law and family. thank you chef john
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I absolutely loved these sloppy joes. They cooked down very nicely and were not soupy as some folks had suggested. The cayenne pepper turned a childhood favorite into a more adult version. I think the cayenne makes this recipe 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
my kids & i really enjoyed this minus the cayenne. won't go back to the can sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, everyone LOVED it! It was pretty simple, the only drawback is the time it takes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Since I like my Joes on the "sweet" side, this was delicious! I liked the fact that these were not laden with heavy tomato sauce, of which I don't care for. Two full cups of water seemed way too much for this recipe. One cup of water seemed to be plenty. Adding more just didn't make any sense. It still took awhile for it to cook down to the consistency I was looking for. The flavors were heaven. Other than a reduction in water, I wouldn't change a thing. I'll never buy a packet or can again. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I don't eat Sloppy Joes but my husband said these were the best and I can make them anytime. He said they tasted even better the next day in his lunch. Thanks Chef John for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, using extra lean ground beef, and I still found these to be too greasy. The flavor was spot on, though. Next time I will drain the ground beef before adding the water and the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is a really good, simple base recipe. I also add about 2 teaspoons of sweet pickle relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States