Chef John's Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was an awesome dish made it just like he did but i did add a couple more strips of bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was yumbolicious. You really can't go wrong with cream and lemon but the Cajun flavoring took it to another level. I had to use 2 lbs of smaller shrimp and so I doubled the sauce. There ended up being too much sauce so I will adjust that next time. I used the Cajun seasoning recipe from this site. I also had some leftover Andouille sausage that I put in with the bacon. I just realized I never added the fresh garlic, whoopsie. Didn't notice it at all, don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Great recipe, always wanted to try shrimp and grits, family loved it--left out the cayenne pepper and jalepeno since my family doesn't care for spicy, I on the otherhand love spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very nice indeed, I just left the Worstershire sauce out and added chillies, very finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Delicious! I made a double recipe, and I had a lot of grits left over. Next time I make it, I'll probably double the grits ingredients and triple the shrimp/sauce ingredients so that I have the right ratio of shrimp/sauce to grits. I had never made grits before, and the recipe didn't say to cover the pot, but the box of grits said to cook them covered, so I did. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was great! Made it at her place for a date and it made me look like a super star. I used more and smaller shrimp and added about 1/4 cup each diced orange pepper and roma tomato in with the shrimp. Also went with polenta instead of grits and used goat cheese with it instead of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
One of my son's all time favorite dishes. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! I followed other suggestions to remove the shrimp after searing, and I added it back just before serving. I increased the amount of sauce (I'm all about the "gravy!), and I suggest leaving out the water. My sauce was thin, and I had to cook it down to a more gravy-like consistency. The flavor was outstanding, and my guys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jjc
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was so simple and easy to make!!! My 10 yo loved this dish! VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Very good recipe for shrimp and grits. This is one of my favorite dishes and I really enjoyed this version. I used a pound-and-a-half of shrimp and doubled the wet ingredients. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States