Chef John's Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This is by far the best recipe for shrimp and grits. My family and friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne d'Eauede

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I have eaten shrimp and grits New Orleans and S Carolina. This was perfertly devine. Easy and delicious. I added mushrooms. CHEF JOHN YOUR RECIPES MAKE ME FEEL LIKE A PRO!!!!!! THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Lepage
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Simple and luxurious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Lepage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This was the best shrimp and grits we have ever tasted! Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe. I do cook my grits using a couple of teaspoons of powdered chicken stock in the water, which really enhances the flavor of the grits. I will definitely be serving this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this dish on Saturday. It was sooooo yummy. I didn't change a thing, besides cut it in half. So happy that I have what I need to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I have used this recipe as a base two times now. Hubby has ulcers and horrid reflex so I have to tame down the hotter ingredients. I don't keep Cajun seasoning on had so I use a spicy Italian seasoning grinder. It has just the right about of kick for us. I also found out tonight that it you don't have green onion, white onion works too. I will definitely keep this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was an awesome dish made it just like he did but i did add a couple more strips of bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was yumbolicious. You really can't go wrong with cream and lemon but the Cajun flavoring took it to another level. I had to use 2 lbs of smaller shrimp and so I doubled the sauce. There ended up being too much sauce so I will adjust that next time. I used the Cajun seasoning recipe from this site. I also had some leftover Andouille sausage that I put in with the bacon. I just realized I never added the fresh garlic, whoopsie. Didn't notice it at all, don't think it's necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Great recipe, always wanted to try shrimp and grits, family loved it--left out the cayenne pepper and jalepeno since my family doesn't care for spicy, I on the otherhand love spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very nice indeed, I just left the Worstershire sauce out and added chillies, very finely chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States