Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was fantastic! Really spicy but not sure why with only 1/4 tsp cayenne. I used 3 TB of flour to thicken to my liking. A must have for Mardi Gras! Real keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made just like recipe said except used 1 lb shrimp and 1 lb chorizo sausage (store was out of andouille). Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgoodwin91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The huge list of ingredients is a little scary, but this actually comes together pretty quickly and the steps aren't too involved. The combination of herbs and spices makes for a very well seasoned broth. I don't like green bell peppers, so I used a poblano (as is suggested in the video). Why didn't I think of that before??? I couldn't bring myself to use pre-cooked shrimp, so I substituted raw easy peel. So much better! Very good recipe that scratches the Cajun itch without the huge production a gumbo is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Learn from my mistake: Do NOT used Rotel in place of tomatoes plus double the spice! lol Sometimes I should just leave the recipe well enough alone! I usually like plenty of spice and find that a lot of recipes don't have enough, so I put in Rotel instead of regular diced tomatoes, mainly bc the recipe calls for diced green chili pepper (not green pepper!) and I didn't have any of those, so I figured that would be a good substitute! Plus, I doubled the spice recipe. I spent a lot of time trying to fix my mistake by adding more chicken stock and then I had to make a slurry with the chicken stock bc it was then more like soup than a stew by that time! Oh well, it finally turned out and was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
loved this. Essentially reduced fat to zero by just spritzing pan with non-stick and minimal butter for veggies. Significantly increase veggies using half a large onion, a whole green pepper, most of a can of diced tomatoes and a few stalks of celery but did not adjust fluids. Just a great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Wow Chef John, I love you. I also love etoufee! Yours is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jovanguss
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this recipe. Everyone loved it! It has a little spice to it but nothing a baby can't handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
As always Chef John shared another winning hit in my family with this recipe! What was really great is my niece had never tried etoufee and just loved it! Thank you Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe came out so well and it was so easy!!! It was spicy but not to hot, flavorful, and I dont think the picture does this meal justice. Chef John you have outdone yourself once again.Also a time saver with all the chopping that would have needed to be done I had a bag of flavor mix that can be purchased frozen and pre-chopped and it seemed to do just as well as purchasing the onions, bell peppers and green onions individually and chopping them myself. Just a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwilcox6539

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Turned out to be very delicious. I'm a sucker for creamier sauces so I added a splash of milk while simmering. Also, I think perhaps the author meant green bell peppers and not green chili peppers? It seems like bell peppers from the video and what he's saying about the 'holy trifecta'..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Areeba Farooqi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States