Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I did a whole onion and green pepper but, I kept everything else the same. My boyfriend has lived and eaten all over Louisiana...so the pressure was on! It delivered! He can't stop raving about it! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sinster
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Everyone LOVED it. Was my first time to make such a complex recipe. Feeling good about it. Instructions are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Made this for supper yesterday and it was wonderful!! Used only shrimp this time but will try it with shrimp & chicken one day for sure. Did not deviate from the recipe except for adding a few more veggies than the 1/3 cup called for. Hubby loved it too.. yippee!! Thanks for this great recipe, Chef John.. xox
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
used a whole can of chopped green chili's, came out with the perfect amount of bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I did this tonight and served over Fried Green tomatoes and Fried Catfish. It was Awesome ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Great Spicy Flavors! Most Etouffe's have you simmer the Roux 15 min or so with lots of oil and constant stiring, but this goes right for it and the flavor is still right on. Sauce has a bit of heat just as is and is well balanced with simple to make Jiffy Mix corn muffins...ohhh yeah!! Will make this again for an easy but super flavorful meal when entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe! So easy to make. I did not have fresh green chile so I used canned and also canned diced tomatoes still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Excellent! Good enough to serve to dinner guests and easy to make. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pell City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Excellent; my wife and I loved it. I intended to make half of this recipe for my wife and me, but forgot and made the entire sauce recipe for only one pound of shrimp; that seemed to be enough shrimp for the full amount of sauce. The shrimp we bought (already P&D) was higher quality than Chef John inferred in the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This food taste soo good ! I will cook this for my friends :) this is so simple to do. I also used fresh tomatoes and it turned out great, so I think fresh food is better than canned tomatoes. I also love adding green onions bc it makes the taste more complete :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States