Chef John's Shrimp Cocktail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Best shrimp cocktail I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This is pure yumminess. I followed it exactly with the exception of one thing, my shrimp was peeled. We have this weekly now, makes a cool light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Pesicka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Outstanding! The poaching liquid was very creative Chef John (reminded of a crab boil of sorts) and the cocktail sauce...better than restaurant style because it is homemade. For the poaching liquid I like others did not have terragon so I substituted basil and oregano. Overall, delicious and easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ItsMissCindy2U
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
My first time ever bothering to make my own shrimp cocktail and this was amazing! Even with the hijacks of using dried tarragon and ground black pepper. Son and husband loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I have tried a few different recipes for cocktail shrimp and this is the best so far! The cocktail sauce was excellent as well, I'm not a fan of spicy food but this has a GOOD kind of kick to it....all my guests were pleased and the platter was empty fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have never made my own shrimp cocktail before I had only purchased it in the store. It is so easy. The homemade cocktail sauce is quick, easy, and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Best shrimp cocktail recipe ever! The sauce is also awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
this was super delicious.. i loved the poaching liquid.. it was something very different than what i'm used to as i normally saute or grill my shrimp.. i used smaller shrimp so it only took 2 minutes to cook.. had to sub dried tarragon for fresh but followed everything else.. we also really liked the cocktail sauce and found it to be like the stuff you get at the restaurants.. the only modification for the cocktail sauce was using Chili Sauce Recipe (on this site) for the chili sauce.. i usually make my cocktail sauce more spicy and pungent, but this was a nice change of pace.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life's a Cabernet
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent and easy recipe. We devoured these New Years Eve. As important as using this great recipe is buying good quality wild caught in the USA shrimp.I personally prefer those from The Gulf of Mexico. They are a little more expensive than farmed and imported but the taste is much much better. All shrimp are not created equal. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life's a Cabernet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starke, Florida, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was fantastic! I have made shrimp cocktail a few times but it was missing "something". This recipe hit the nail on the head for us and was most like what you order in a restaurant. Only change made was I did not have the tarragon so I subbed oregano. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States