Chef John's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Really good, but of course some changes...I topped with chipotle smashed potatoes and used a can of drained corn because that is what I had. My guy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This shepherds pie was delicious. I added salt to the meat mixture and the mashed potatoes since the recipe did not say when to add the salt. This is completely different from the shepherds pie I grew up on but as equally delicious. Definitely a keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
LOVE, love, loved this recipe, and so did my husband so I know I will be making it again. Perfect comfort food on a chilly fall or winter night. Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Loved it! I added a chopped onion to the hamburger meat when I browned it. And I forgot to add garlic, so I just added some garlic salt instead. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brit
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
My family really liked this recipe. The only change I made was I added a little red pepper to the vegetables while they cooked. Other than that I went strictly by the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great recipe! But it lacks so many ingredients. I added Worcestershire sauce, dried parsley, and onions. Other than the seasonings adjustment; this need more moisture, and I feel that 3/4 cup beef broth isn't enough, and next I'll add 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I didn't add veggies to mine because of some picky eaters in my house, but even with just the meat and potatoes it was yummy! It's all about the gravy for this dish, in my opinion! I make it all the time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved it!! Only thing I didn't like was the potatoes tended to be a bit mushy but that might be because I used reds instead of the ones suggested in the recipe. I usually prefer reds but next time I'll try the russets for this recipe. (I've never seen yukon gold at my grocery store). I did follow some suggestions and added onion and garlic to the meat while browning. This was awesome, even my potato hating husband liked it and I used the leftovers for two brown bag lunches for me during the week. Reheats very well. Now on my regular rotation, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
mmm ~ very good Chef! Love it, will make again! Of course I added a bit of my own tweaks like cayenne pepper, onion salt, garlic salt, pepper, thyme, Worchestershire, & celery seed to bump up the meat mixture a bit, also used as much beef broth as I saw fit- I didn't measure. I used frozen vegies as recommended and a can of cream corn. Oh and lots of CHEESE! This was the best shepherds pie recipe I have ever found! Thank You & keep these wonderful recipes coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbiemaltais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States