Chef John's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I liked this and so did my family. I will make this again but I have to admit I will use less veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a no-nonsense Shepherd's Pie that makes me love it even more. It's a perfect comfort-food dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Had great hopes, made it with ground lamb. Very mediocre - the ground meat could have used alot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was a great recipe (as are all of Chef John's)! I made a few additions and took some tips from other reviewers. First, I wanted it to be a more traditional Shepherd's Pie, so I used ground Lamb instead of beef. I diced 1/4 cup onion and 1/2 cup mushrooms and cooked it in with the Lamb as I was browning it. After the meet was finished, I added in a pinch of Thyme, Paprika, and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. I then continued with the original recipe. The last thing I did, after the dish was finished baking, I placed it under the broiler for a few minutes to make the cheese on top get nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious; I reduced the frozen veggies and added some chopped carrots and Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Eastcott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was a nice recipe that my husband liked too. I think next time we will try it with lamb. We used mixed fresh vegetables that we sauteed in butter. Our mixed vegetables were garlic, spoon-sized onions, baby carrots, chopped celery, and mushrooms. In the ground beef we used a dash of garlic powder and worcestershire sauce. Once the beef and vegetables were in the pan, I used a half can of cream of celery soup (and a little water) to spinkle over the beef and vegetables to keep the pie from being too dry. We used lebnah in the mashed potatoes as we were unable to find sour cream. We sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese on top and ate the meal with a hearty wheat bread and some fresh garden rocket. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Its a keeper! Its a perfect way of using up leftover mashed potatoes, so that makes it even easier to make. I skip the sour cream since my leftover mashed potatoes already have butter and milk in them. I've made this twice now, both times with frozen veggies which works great. I follow the Recipe except I sauteed chopped onion and garlic with the meat, and add about twice as much broth to make more "gravy". I also add a few shakes of Worcestershire and maybe a little soy sauce to add a zip. Everything fits into a 2 quart casserole dish perfectly. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very tasty....good base recipe. You can really use this as a guide and use what you've got on hand. I used sliced leeks, corn, green beans, carrots and celery for the veggies, which I sautéed in about a tablespoon of butter. Added about one tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and 2 t. Chopped fresh parsley with broth mixture. Also added white pepper and two tablespoons butter to potato topping and eliminated cheddar. The whole family enjoyed this. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was great. I started by sauteing diced red onion and diced fresh carrot then added the ground beef. I followed the remained of the recipe adding chopped green chile at the end. We love green chile. I finished the dish under the broiler. This is an excellent recipe to get your vegi fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good basic Shepherds Pie recipe. I added some diced onion,celery, Worcestershire sauce, thyme, and kicked it up a notch by adding some horseradish which really spiced it up without changing the basic taste. (hubby doesn't like things bland) I also used fresh veggies, except for the corn. Really liked the sour cream in the potatoes. Hubby said keep this one in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States