Chef John's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I did not have any frozen vegetables in my freezer--I improvized. I threw in some chopped onion, chopped fresh zucchini, chopped fresh red pepper, and chopped fresh broccoli to take the place of the frozen vegetables. I also added a teaspoon each of dried oregano and dried basil to the meat/vegetable mixture and I cut back just a touch on the salt. I was able to use my cast iron skillet from beginning to end which I absolutely loved. My husband and two boys really liked this though my kids thought that it could use more cheese and my husband thought it could use more "gravy". Next time, I'll increase both the cheese amounts and "gravy" just a touch. This is absolutely comfort food defined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very easy to make, and tasted great. The potatoes were very creamy and flavorful, even with no butter added. The recipe didn't say when to add the salt and pepper, so I added it to the meat mixture. I also salted the water that I boiled the potatoes in. I wasn't sure what size casserole dish to use, but my 2-quart oval casserole worked perfectly. This is a great recipe for a quick, inexpensive meal. I'd like to try it using ground lamb also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was a great recipe (as are all of Chef John's)! I made a few additions and took some tips from other reviewers. First, I wanted it to be a more traditional Shepherd's Pie, so I used ground Lamb instead of beef. I diced 1/4 cup onion and 1/2 cup mushrooms and cooked it in with the Lamb as I was browning it. After the meet was finished, I added in a pinch of Thyme, Paprika, and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. I then continued with the original recipe. The last thing I did, after the dish was finished baking, I placed it under the broiler for a few minutes to make the cheese on top get nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This shepherds pie turned out awsome, the only thing I changed was to add an extra half cup of beef broth as I like a little more gravy. I love that this recipe uses sour cream instead of cream cheese as this is much easier on my wasteline and my wallet and still very flavorful. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
First time making Shepherds Pie and it was a hit. I added about 6 cloves of garlic and 1/4 onion to the meat mixture and used veggie broth instead. I forgot the ketcup which made no difference. After smashig the potatoes I added garlic powder and pepper. The potatoes were so delightful that I make them as a side dish now. There are never any leftovers! Thanks John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This Shepherds pie was good but the meat was a bit bland. I added a whole diced onion but next time I would add some garlic and a pinch of cloves to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Its a keeper! Its a perfect way of using up leftover mashed potatoes, so that makes it even easier to make. I happened to have a 12oz bag of frozen veggies in the freezer (which are perfectly fine to use, despite another reviewers disdain). I followed the Recipe except I sauteed chopped onion and garlic with the meat, and added a little more broth to make more "gravy" as another reviewer noted. I also added a few splashes of Soy Sauce and Worcestershire sauce to add a zip, but it didn't necessarily improve the dish. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved it!! Only thing I didn't like was the potatoes tended to be a bit mushy but that might be because I used reds instead of the ones suggested in the recipe. I usually prefer reds but next time I'll try the russets for this recipe. (I've never seen yukon gold at my grocery store). I did follow some suggestions and added onion and garlic to the meat while browning. This was awesome, even my potato hating husband liked it and I used the leftovers for two brown bag lunches for me during the week. Reheats very well. Now on my regular rotation, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Easy to make, yummy to eat! Doesn't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States