Chef John's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very tasty....good base recipe. You can really use this as a guide and use what you've got on hand. I used sliced leeks, corn, green beans, carrots and celery for the veggies, which I sautéed in about a tablespoon of butter. Added about one tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and 2 t. Chopped fresh parsley with broth mixture. Also added white pepper and two tablespoons butter to potato topping and eliminated cheddar. The whole family enjoyed this. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was great. I started by sauteing diced red onion and diced fresh carrot then added the ground beef. I followed the remained of the recipe adding chopped green chile at the end. We love green chile. I finished the dish under the broiler. This is an excellent recipe to get your vegi fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Very good basic Shepherds Pie recipe. I added some diced onion,celery, Worcestershire sauce, thyme, and kicked it up a notch by adding some horseradish which really spiced it up without changing the basic taste. (hubby doesn't like things bland) I also used fresh veggies, except for the corn. Really liked the sour cream in the potatoes. Hubby said keep this one in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This Shepherds pie was good but the meat was a bit bland. I added a whole diced onion but next time I would add some garlic and a pinch of cloves to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Outstanding! The only thing I changed was to add some Worcestershire to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Great recipe, save the drippings and add the flour in the pan, the sour cream, great ideas, very nice. The second time around, I cut the ketchup by a 1/3 and added 2 tablespoons of HP Sauce. Worked for me. Next time, instead, some crushed chilies for a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This shepherds pie turned out awsome, the only thing I changed was to add an extra half cup of beef broth as I like a little more gravy. I love that this recipe uses sour cream instead of cream cheese as this is much easier on my wasteline and my wallet and still very flavorful. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very tasty! I didn't use frozen veggies since I had some from my garden that needed to be used before they went bad, but this was a great and easy recipe. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Tasty, tasty! I made this with leftover pot roast the I diced. I did add a pinch of celery salt, about 1 tbsp fresh rosemary finely diced, and a shake of oregano. Since I had no drippings from the pot roast, I made a rue of beef broth and flour to thicken up the added beef broth. Very tasty. the boyfriend requested a repeat of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not found of frozen veggies. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States