Chef John's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by David Stevens
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
easy and simple to follow directions. recipe easily doubles. not to sweet and perfect with butter and jam...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
After all the 5 star reviews I thought I am going to give this scone recipe a try. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written and after adding the milk/ sour cream mixture to the flour/ butter mixture it was a crumbly mess and it would not come together. In order to save this recipe I had to add 1 egg and 1 Tablespoon more milk. This recipe is not great and I definitely will not be making it again. Well on to another search for a better scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Amazing scones. I have to tell you -- I normally don't like scones! they're usually dry or hard -- but I was reading a book set in Ireland and suddenly I wanted a scone. So I found this recipe, and made them as the recipe instructed except no currants. Sooooo good! They are flaky and light and I didn't even need to add jam or anything. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Perfect sweetness and texture! It's a great basic recipe that you can substitute lots of different fruits for the currants. I made it with sweetened, dried cranberries (craisins) and they came out moist and just the right amount of sweetness. Also, they were still moist and flavorful 2 days later - unlike other scone recipes I've tried that are good right out of the oven but dry and hard the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This recipe was very simple and turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly (twice) and my husband gobbled them up. I love some of the other reviewers suggestions on different flavor combinations and will try those next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TnVolsFan
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Thank you Chef John. Made these for New Years brunch and served with fresh strawberries. Yum!!! The texture was AMAZING. I didn't have unsalted butter so I just left out the 1/8th of a teaspoon salt. I look forward to making again and maybe trying some of the variations (not that it is needed) others have listed. FYI: I used 2% milk and light sour cream and still thought they were delish in case you're trying to cut a few calories here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnVolsFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Best scones I will ever have the pleasure of eating. Had to use whipping cream, as that's all I had. Added zest of one orange and dried cranberries. Also sprinkled a bit of sugar on top of the egg wash before baking and it gave them a lovely crust. I deleted all other saved scone recipes. This is 'the one'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Nice and fluffy. I added a bit more sour cream to mine and sprinkled sugar instead of a egg was on top! This is a keeper! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
so good, with just hint of sweetness, even better than Starbucks! made exactly as recipe, only omitted the salt since used salted-butter. firmed up the butter in the freezer before cutting in the flour mixture. cant go wrong w/recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delicious! I've been making scones for many years and this will be a great addition to my recipe collection. I used almond milk and dried cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States