Chef John's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Light, fluffy, and delish. I added dried cherries instead of currants, used splenda instead of sugar, and used almond milk in place of milk, and the recipe turned out great. Super delicious; I could not just have one. I will definitely save this recipe and use again. Thanks Chef John for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Don't know too much about scones, never ate them before. But I can tell you that my family really enjoyed these for breakfast and I don't have to look for another recipe!! thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Moist, tender and a perfect scone. Like the other reviewer, I used splenda and dusted half tof the scones with raw sugar. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very good! I used my homemade fat free yogurt instead of sour cream and dark chocolate chips since I had no dried fruit. My 4 year old helped me and she also loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellina124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Delicious! I used skim milk and light sour cream. I forgot to brush the egg and milk on top but I did sprinkle some sugar on top before baking. I didn't have any currants so I used some strawberry tidbits I had laying around. Very simple and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These are on the other side of fantastic! I added candied ginger, lemon zest and vanilla. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I am not much of a baker - all too often, my attempts don't turn out well. But we love scones, and I was determined to find a recipe that even I could handle. This is it! I watched the video and followed the recipe exactly, except for using Craisins, and these are easy and fantastic! I wanted to make a second batch immediately with chocolate or cinnamon chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Wonderful scone recipe - I froze the butter and then grated it into the dry ingredients. I added a little more sugar, as I love a sweet scone. I used half and half instead of milk and after the egg wash topped them off with turbinado sugar for that extra added crunch. This is a great base for add-ins like dried cranberries and white or dark chocolate chips. These come out of the oven beautiful... almost look too good to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These scones were very good. I enjoyed the video and Chef John's sense of humor. I made them as outlined in the recipe. I much prefer to read reviews that are made as outlined. When you change things without having made the original first, you're not really giving an accurate review. As far as I know, there is no true way to make scones. Not unless you invented them. I've been making scones for my husband for over 40 years and we enjoy the many different takes on scones. We do like currants in the scones and we usually eat them after dinner for dessert instead of in the morning. This is a very good recipe which I will make again and added it to my huge collection of scone recipes. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Ive made quite a few scones, I really like this recipe is was simple. I did zest it up by zesting lemon in it, and next time Ill use cranberries and orange zest.....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States