Chef John's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
My family and I loved these scones! They were very light and moist. I used cherry craisins instead of currents. And we ate these with honey and it was a hit. They also baked perfectly in 15 minutes. We will definitely do these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Years ago, we lived next door to a professional baker who taught me how to make scones. I have been making scones on Sunday mornings now for years. I have ditched my old recipe, and replaced it with this one - the scones are tenderer and lighter. These have been a huge hit with the family! I did not make any changes - I make the scones exactly as listed. So far, we have had no bad results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Chef John was right on the money once again. I made these exactly as the recipe is written and they were perfect and delicious. Saved some for my granddaughter because she loves scones. I got her hooked on scones made from scratch when she was 5 years old and now she always expects Grannie Cheryl (me) to make some for her. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Funliven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brundidge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
These scones are delicious! I didn't add the currants because I didn't have any. I watched the video "How to make scones" by Chef John and did everything else exactly as he did. He said to sprinkle some sugar over the top of the biscuits before baking them, and I think I put too much. The scones are very sweet, probably because of all the sugar I added to the top. Next time I will add less sugar to the top and probably add fresh blueberries yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Great recipe - looks a lot better in person than the picture this recipe shows, all golden and moist. I use 1 1/2 tsp of finely cut orange peel in lieu of the currants. Perfect for a sunny morning, and they stay moist if you freeze them fresh, so you can even sleep in, THEN eat scones for breakfast. Nom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Even though i'm no expert cook, i sure did have people impressed that i can make scones, thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Serve English style with a bowl of clotted cream and a bowl of strawberry jam. Don't forget the cup of tea! You can find clotted cream at most good groceries and, of course, at Whole Foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I have a Scottish heritage so I made this recipe to check it out. I loved the video too. I made it exactly the way it said except added blueberries. Even the picky boyfriend liked them. They were very light and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Tried making SCONES the first time about 8 months ago while I was flipping through cook books for a descent recipe for them. Then made them with Brown Sugar and Cinnamon. Hot is best. I haven't seen any Currants and have an allergy to sour cream, but every recipe came with a challenge to add my own flavors. I used 1 cup pancake mix (Krustez or Bisquick which is what the recipe book said, So I used what I had available), 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup Brown Sugar and 1 Tbls of Cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara C. Rodgers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Perfect recipe. I used heavy cream instead of sour cream, added chocolate chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States