Chef John's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
My 12 year old daughter wanted to make these scones, so I gladly sat back and coached her! The recipe was easy to follow, and had good results. She added dark chocolate chips and walnuts instead of the currants. The scones were soft and delicious! The next time that we make these I will add a teaspoon of cinnamon, just to add more flavor. -Wanna Be Chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Made these for the first time and my DH and I loved them. Didn't have currants so I left them out and they still were amazing. We had them with strawberry jam. Next time I will drizzle some icing over them. Love his buttermilk biscuit recipe too. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sag517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I have made from his recipe for a while now. A great base recipe. You can make all variations from here (lemon poppyseed, raspberry, blueberry, buttermilk, orange cranberry).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Oh, these are really fantastic! All I can do is echo all the other 5 star reviews. I didn't have dried currants. But being the mother of a few kiddos, I did have some Nestle holiday semi-sweet red & green morsels. I used those and had some very festive scones. I'm so excited to try the currants though in the next go around. I can see these as a Sat. morning treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Awesome! I have made these scones many times and they always turn out delicious. I usually use dried cranberries instead of currents. My kids and husband eat them right out of the oven but love to snack on them all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe. Didn't have sour creme so used Greek yogurt. I did sprinkle a little cinnamon sugar on top prior to baking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
ANOTHER UPDATE! I LOVE it. This last time I doubled the recipe to have enough to share. I also substituted buttermilk instead of plain milk, just because I like the taste of buttermilk biscuits, and I liked it. The other thing I did differently and am not recommending: I patted the dough out thicker--probably closer to 3/4 inch before cutting into triangles (and I use a knife with a serrated blade for 'clean' cuts). I was not as pleased with the thicker scones. I prefer the thinner ones that are lighter in the middle with a crusty exterior (enhanced by sprinkling sugar on top prior to baking.) As far as using dried fruits, I used dried cherries that I 'reconstituted' in a small bowl of water in the microwave. I let them cool and poured off the 'juice.' I much prefer the softer fruit than the dried fruit in these scones. Going to try blueberries next. Have fun with this recipe! I sure am! Thanks again, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a good basic scone recipe. I wanted cranberry orange so substituted dried cranberries for the currants. (I like a lot of fruit so increased the amount.) I added the zest of one small orange to the dry ingredients. Just before mixing in the wet ingredients, I squirted the juice from a wedge of the fresh orange over the dry ingredients for additional orange flavor. And I sprinkled coarse sugar over them after the eggwash before I put them in the oven. Even though I've made scones before, I found the video very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
These turned out beautiful. Very crunchy on the outside but soft and fluffy on the inside. These are not dense heavy scones they a lighter version. I made them with cinnamon chips and they were delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made these a couple of weeks ago and they were fantastic, now I want to make them again for Thanksgiving wkend. Does anyone know if you can freeze the dough ahead of time ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States