Chef John's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Amazing scones. I have to tell you -- I normally don't like scones! they're usually dry or hard -- but I was reading a book set in Ireland and suddenly I wanted a scone. So I found this recipe, and made them as the recipe instructed except no currants. Sooooo good! They are flaky and light and I didn't even need to add jam or anything. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Perfect sweetness and texture! It's a great basic recipe that you can substitute lots of different fruits for the currants. I made it with sweetened, dried cranberries (craisins) and they came out moist and just the right amount of sweetness. Also, they were still moist and flavorful 2 days later - unlike other scone recipes I've tried that are good right out of the oven but dry and hard the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This recipe was very simple and turned out great. I followed the recipe exactly (twice) and my husband gobbled them up. I love some of the other reviewers suggestions on different flavor combinations and will try those next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TnVolsFan
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Thank you Chef John. Made these for New Years brunch and served with fresh strawberries. Yum!!! The texture was AMAZING. I didn't have unsalted butter so I just left out the 1/8th of a teaspoon salt. I look forward to making again and maybe trying some of the variations (not that it is needed) others have listed. FYI: I used 2% milk and light sour cream and still thought they were delish in case you're trying to cut a few calories here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnVolsFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Best scones I will ever have the pleasure of eating. Had to use whipping cream, as that's all I had. Added zest of one orange and dried cranberries. Also sprinkled a bit of sugar on top of the egg wash before baking and it gave them a lovely crust. I deleted all other saved scone recipes. This is 'the one'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Nice and fluffy. I added a bit more sour cream to mine and sprinkled sugar instead of a egg was on top! This is a keeper! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
so good, with just hint of sweetness, even better than Starbucks! made exactly as recipe, only omitted the salt since used salted-butter. firmed up the butter in the freezer before cutting in the flour mixture. cant go wrong w/recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Delicious! I've been making scones for many years and this will be a great addition to my recipe collection. I used almond milk and dried cranberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Went together very easily. I don't like currants, so I used frozen strawberries and a little vanilla. Delish. Will save this recipe and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Schule

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beeville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I love making them. Usually I cut up dried cranberries or blueberries and have them with my tea in the afternoon. Mmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States