Chef John's Scalloped Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is so similar to mine - I don't think I've ever measured...I do add worcestershire sauce to each layer. This was a family tradition at my house for Thanksgiving. I like it with a Steak as well (and have been known to heat them up and eat for breakfast - it grosses my family out but I love them)! Glad to see someone else is eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mylert
Living In: Robbinsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pretty much the same as the one I make(I'm not very good at measuring), but it never occurred to me to use parsley and I liked the dash of color. I've been addicted to these since I was a little kid and I'm ashamed to say that I probably make them 7 or 8 times a year and am very selfish. Have to admit I've done the "breakfast thing", as well... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chart

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paulden, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was really the best scalloped oysters I have ever eaten. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner with the family and made it the following week for my husband and I. No changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I just made a small portion of this dish since I am trying new recipes for Thanksgiving this year and all I can say is, this dish will be on my menu! Its that good!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I just tried this recipe out of curiosity (and the video looks so good). I don't even like oysters, except for the canned smoked oysters, but I really liked this recipe. Although, I found that in order to cover the bottom of the dish and the first layer of oysters the same way Chef John does in his video, I needed more like 5 cups of crushed crackers. I used half Chicken in a Biscuit and half Saltines. This is a great way to use up stale crackers! I used four 8 ounce cans of whole oysters, but dumped half of the liquid that was in the cans. I've never bought fresh oysters so I don't know how much "liquor" is normal. If you used canned or jarred oysters, be careful of the occasional small pieces of shell! I think next time I'll use a little more cream. Overall, it turned out very good. The funny thing is that my husband didn't like it. Said it was too fishy tasting (which he doesn't like). I thought the exact opposite. I thought it was hardly fishy at all. Funny coming from a guy who likes oyster shooters (but I don't)! Oh, and when reheating any leftovers, watch out! When I pulled my plate out of the microwave, an oyster exploded! So leave your covered dish in the microwave for a few seconds before pulling it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe, everyone loved it and none left over! Mixed the oyster juice with cream and seasonings which I poured a little layering the casserole and then over the top. Also, added a 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika and Worcester sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Jamestown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this yesterday for a a holiday get together and it was big hit. I did add a few more spices, garlic and onion powder for sure. I also put swiss cheese on the top before baking. People that didn't know if they really liked oysters came back for seconds. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Love this, I've made it for years, sometimes I just use milk instead of cream and it's still wonderful. Yep, I've eaten it for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Just like our traditional family recipe, with the addition of Worcestershire sauce and a dash of Tabasco. instead of the red pepper…probably just the same taste. Very delicious. There are never leftovers as this is the dish everyone heads to for seconds. This is also a good dish to let the kids help assemble. They all love draining the oysters with their clean hands to check for shells. We cannot think of a family holiday dinner without these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
We made this and it was soooooo good. I could have eaten the entire recipe by myself. Since the oysters were a gift, I felt compelled to share but I have to tell you it was really hard to share. I'm not normally a selfish person so I was really surprised at my reaction not to want to share any of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States