Chef John's Scalloped Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This recipe is so similar to mine - I don't think I've ever measured...I do add worcestershire sauce to each layer. This was a family tradition at my house for Thanksgiving. I like it with a Steak as well (and have been known to heat them up and eat for breakfast - it grosses my family out but I love them)! Glad to see someone else is eating them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mylert
Living In: Robbinsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was really the best scalloped oysters I have ever eaten. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner with the family and made it the following week for my husband and I. No changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome - only one I will use from now on. The cayenne pepper was just the right kick! Thanks for a great recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is so tasty! Way To Go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pretty much the same as the one I make(I'm not very good at measuring), but it never occurred to me to use parsley and I liked the dash of color. I've been addicted to these since I was a little kid and I'm ashamed to say that I probably make them 7 or 8 times a year and am very selfish. Have to admit I've done the "breakfast thing", as well... Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chart

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Paulden, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I loved this, as well as my family (young children included). I wanted to make oysters since I love them and was happy to find a recipe that the whole family enjoyed! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was the prettiest oyster casserole I have ever made!!!! Every last bite eaten up--hard to go wrong with these ingredients, though! This will be my "go to" oyster recipe from now on! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Delicious! Followed recipe exactly and it was perfect. This will now be added to my favorite recipes list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This is very close to how I make it.. I add worcestershire sauce to the heavy cream and poor it on top of all of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stewy1754

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
We made this and it was soooooo good. I could have eaten the entire recipe by myself. Since the oysters were a gift, I felt compelled to share but I have to tell you it was really hard to share. I'm not normally a selfish person so I was really surprised at my reaction not to want to share any of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States