Chef John's Scalloped Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
OMG!!!!!! It is wonderfully good for such easy preparation. One of my guests didn't like oysters, but tried it and then went in for a second helping. I just wonder what sides would be good to serve with this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris MacDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
We liked this, but would reduce the butter &/or heavy cream amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Easy to make after I watched the video. Disappeared quickly at a potluck. Agree you must use quality oysters of course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Like others, my north Louisiana family has been enjoying a dish almost exactly like this during the holidays at least since the 1950s (as far back as I can remember). We do not mix the crackers with butter, and do not really measure. Just crumble a good layer of crackers and top with oysters, closely spaced because they will shrink with cooking. We also add worcestershire, green onions, and some Tony Chachere's. Repeat the layers, ending with crackers topped with butter pats, then pour in milk until it looks right! :-) We always use fresh oysters, but I have learned that in recent years there is usually water added to the liquor so it is not very flavorful, and we do not use that any more. This is always requested and devoured by family members who like oysters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Well Chef John was right, you have to love oysters for this recipe. I split the dish between 2 dishes. The first was made as written and the other I added garlic and worchestire sauce. I made this knowing that it may not go over well but I've wanted to make this for awhile. After tasting both dishes the receipe received 3-never agains, 1-OK and 1-like. I liked it and had it the next day for breakfast with a few dashes of hot sauce. I doubt I'll make again but enjoyed the process. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I just made a small portion of this dish since I am trying new recipes for Thanksgiving this year and all I can say is, this dish will be on my menu! Its that good!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I just tried this recipe out of curiosity (and the video looks so good). I don't even like oysters, except for the canned smoked oysters, but I really liked this recipe. Although, I found that in order to cover the bottom of the dish and the first layer of oysters the same way Chef John does in his video, I needed more like 5 cups of crushed crackers. I used half Chicken in a Biscuit and half Saltines. This is a great way to use up stale crackers! I used four 8 ounce cans of whole oysters, but dumped half of the liquid that was in the cans. I've never bought fresh oysters so I don't know how much "liquor" is normal. If you used canned or jarred oysters, be careful of the occasional small pieces of shell! I think next time I'll use a little more cream. Overall, it turned out very good. The funny thing is that my husband didn't like it. Said it was too fishy tasting (which he doesn't like). I thought the exact opposite. I thought it was hardly fishy at all. Funny coming from a guy who likes oyster shooters (but I don't)! Oh, and when reheating any leftovers, watch out! When I pulled my plate out of the microwave, an oyster exploded! So leave your covered dish in the microwave for a few seconds before pulling it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe, everyone loved it and none left over! Mixed the oyster juice with cream and seasonings which I poured a little layering the casserole and then over the top. Also, added a 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika and Worcester sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Jamestown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this yesterday for a a holiday get together and it was big hit. I did add a few more spices, garlic and onion powder for sure. I also put swiss cheese on the top before baking. People that didn't know if they really liked oysters came back for seconds. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Love this, I've made it for years, sometimes I just use milk instead of cream and it's still wonderful. Yep, I've eaten it for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Chef John's Scallop Gratin

Scallops baked in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States