Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love me some Chef John. This was a really great recipe; I just modified it a bit based on taste preference and ingredient availability. Instead of butter I just used olive oil, and since I couldn't find Andouille, I just bought a different smoked sausage. I added some hot sauce for a bit of extra heat, I used a large can of diced tomates, I used two green peppers instead of one, I used wild rice instead of brown, and I used chicken instead of shrimp. Tasted quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
The portions are relatively small...keep that in mind when deciding on the # of portions. I doubled the amount of tomatoes and it was just right... This is now my favorite Jambalaya recipe....next time I am adding chicken in place of or in addition to shrimp....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was so good! Only issue was I didn't crack the lid took cook the rice so it ended up taking much longer than 45 minutes to cook. However it was worth the wait, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
OMG I LOVE Chef John! I have tried several of his recipes (his Caramel Chicken and Mac-n-cheese are also favs) and this one gets the most compliments. Delish! Made as written is terrific, but I like to substitute chicken smoked sausage to reduce fat content and use rotel instead of plain diced tomatoes because I like the extra kick. This is the BEST jambalaya recipe on the site (and I've made many). Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmidthead05

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
AMAZING! I made this for dinner for my parents and it was so good! I didnt have the cajun seasoning so i just used creole seasoning instead and the flavor was perfect! It was so spicy which is what i love! Next time i will do chicken instead of shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Missing Instructions About Boiling! This recipe is awesome. It has just the right amount of spice, and has become a new favorite around my house. The instructions left out that you need to bring your rice mixture to a boil before covering it, turning on low, and simmering for 45 minutes. If you do not bring it to a boil first, this will take more like 2 hours to cook. Even with bringing it to a boil, it takes more like an hour, just like it does when you make brown rice by itself. Other than that, this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I love this one a lot. It's one of my favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svetik
Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I really like the ingredients, but I had to tweak the order and timing of cooking to make the recipe work. For instance, the rice is better if cooked separately from the sausage and vegetables and the shrimp need to be added well before the final 5 minutes to cook properly and augment flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Chef John is my new hero. Followed Cindy18lou's suggestion of low sodium broth, but otherwise followed the recipe. Doubled easily to make for a large group and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Delicious!! I pretty much followed the recipe - I may have added a little extra tomatoes. I used chicken andouille sausage without the casing as I don't eat pork. The only change I would suggest is the addition of tabasco sauce as I think the dish was missing a little tang... Super easy and will go into my regular weekday dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States