Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a guest dinner hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet K Regner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome...better then any I have ever ate at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great recipe... the only modification I changed was the sausage... I used Connecuh Cajun Sausage... love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Chef John, YOU ROCK!! Whenever I want something Cajun I knoW you'll have exactly what I want. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I liked it a lt, but Hubby found it too spicy. I will try again and cut back on the hot spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I gave this five stars, but I changed the recipe A LOT based on what I had in the kitchen. I substituted dark roux (from a jar) for butter, and that gave it a really nice smoky, earthy flavor. Also added some soy sauce and worchestshire sauce (per another recipe). No tomatoes on hand, so I added a squirt or two of ketchup. Didn't have celery, so left that out. Lots of cayenne 'cause we like it hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Next time I will cut back on the cumin and about a quarter cup of the broth. Other than that, it was easy and good. Much better and healthier than the box type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
It tasted very yummy, however I did have to adjust the recipe. I added in more rice and also used dry crushed bay leaves instead of fresh since that's what I had on hand. My stove was being kind of finicky, so I had to simmer the jambalaya on medium heat for two hours in order to get the rice to cook. I also used chicken broth instead of stock, and it still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantachie, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I liked this, but will probably not make it again. I put the brown rice in and mine took 2 hours to cook. If I do make this again, I will cook the rice separately and then add it to the dish. It's also possible you have to add the rice, bring the pot to a boil and then turn to low. I used brown rice, as the receipe stated, so not sure why it didn't work out for me. This dish is pretty spicy as written, so take that into account if you are dealing with eaters who can't handle a lot of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I made a roasted chicken. Short story is I was running late asked hubby for help and as a result dusted the entire chicken and veggies with the other dark red powder, cayenne! My roasted chickenis turned into soup at the end. I was a little faint of heart when it came to turning an overly cayenne encrusted chicken into soup! It seemed to me that Jambalaya may work, though it was a step from traditional, but I knew the cayenne, cumin, and paprika would be fine on the chicken as well. So I bravely pressed forward. Andouille sausage and short grain brown rice are apparently hard to find where I live. So I used a smoked pork kielbasa and long grain rice. I used 50% less sodium fat free broth, I omitted the salt added in the recipe. So it was sausage, chicken and shrimp. It was amazing. Everyone took second helpings and the chicken worked without issue (If for instance you don’t like shrimp or want to make it very heart healthy and get rid of the sausage which was my only demon in this.) Basically any and all three meats work fine with the spice load! Definitely a keeper recipe! And a great changeable recipe when you need it! Chef John...No nonsense cooking for no nonsense people. Aren't we all sick to death of grown male chefs that behave like 12 year old female drama queens!I know I am! There are a host of general good and basic cooking skills you can learn from Chef John. I have several of his recipes, never been disappointed. He's so relaxing I could listen to him forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States