Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
it was a good receipe ez to make will add some of my own ingriediants next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
If you like HOT food you might LOVE this as written, but it was WAY too spicy-hot for us and I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne and smoked sausage, not hot andouille. I added a squirt of tomato paste from a tube and a minced clove of garlic and it added that "something" I felt the flavor was lacking. My rice got too well done, I think it would be better to cook it seperately and add at the end or something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Well, i looked at more than one recipe- this one seemed to be key w/ ingredients... But i also followed advice of other reviewers. Came out WONDERFUL... with a few adjustments... First- ADD GARLIC! 1-2 cloves minced is perfect. I did use white rice as a preference in taste & time- minute rice added (cooked) in when adding shrimp is perfect!! Can't really place brown rice on this one- jumbalaya is a more hearty dish & brown instead of white rice makes me feel it would not fit well. Due to spice preferences- i also added a wee bit more cayenne & pepper. Adjustments to the salt are definitely as stated! Adjust salt & peppers to taste! You don't want a salty dish (the sausage has enough salt) and you dont want a dish too spicy to eat! Adjust everything to preference. That is key to a great recipe like this. Thanks to Chef John! This is a keeper- just needs adaptation for each cook's preferences. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I love love LOVE this recipe!! I have made this at least 5 times now. I have a no salt Cajun seasoning that I use along with low sodium chicken broth. The first time I made it, it was too salty. And the brown rice is best, I love the nutty flavor it gives and I love the texture. I used white rice in a pinch once, and I didn't care for it. Oh, and once everything is in the pot, bring to a boil before simmering. Otherwise you are looking more at 1-2 hours of cook time... Update: This base works great too when you have other meats you need to use up. My favorite is using leftovers after baking a ham. Very good recipe, and can be modified in a myriad of ways and still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Yum!! This was very good. The whole family loved it. I will make this often. It was so easy to make and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was a very flavorful dish. Mad my own shrimp stock with the shells, and used it in place of the chicken stock. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Only change I made was to add 1-1/2 chicken breasts at the beginning - added to butter a couple minutes before adding sausage. This was delicious and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
What can I say? Another hit from Chef John! This one I made as written with the only exception being the use of white rice as that's what I had on hand. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe! I used Johnsonville's Andouille sausage. Delicious! Thanks again Chef John for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Cooked as written, except used canned petite tomatoes instead of fresh. Next time, adding chicken and a can of rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
So delicious. Only changes I made was to use chicken instead of sausage because we had just had our fill of sausage a few days ago. Very easy, quickly came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States