Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I love love LOVE this recipe!! I have made this at least 5 times now. I have a no salt Cajun seasoning that I use along with low sodium chicken broth. The first time I made it, it was too salty. And the brown rice is best, I love the nutty flavor it gives and I love the texture. I used white rice in a pinch once, and I didn't care for it. Oh, and once everything is in the pot, bring to a boil before simmering. Otherwise you are looking more at 1-2 hours of cook time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Yum!! This was very good. The whole family loved it. I will make this often. It was so easy to make and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was a very flavorful dish. Mad my own shrimp stock with the shells, and used it in place of the chicken stock. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Only change I made was to add 1-1/2 chicken breasts at the beginning - added to butter a couple minutes before adding sausage. This was delicious and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
What can I say? Another hit from Chef John! This one I made as written with the only exception being the use of white rice as that's what I had on hand. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe! I used Johnsonville's Andouille sausage. Delicious! Thanks again Chef John for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Cooked as written, except used canned petite tomatoes instead of fresh. Next time, adding chicken and a can of rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
So delicious. Only changes I made was to use chicken instead of sausage because we had just had our fill of sausage a few days ago. Very easy, quickly came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I have never made jambalaya, but I wanted to make it AWESOME. So of course I went with Chef John's recipe. He's never failed me before. I made a whole frigging VAT of this stuff, and spent the night power-texting my friends about how good my dinner was. They were so jealous that I brought them some the next day at work, and one of my friends declared it better than his spouse's, which is sayin' a lot. This is a freaking awesome recipe. I loved it. I'm craving it right now. I'm sad that it's all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
DELISH!!!! Wow! I be no means consider myself a good cook, I can follow a recipe and this recipe was easy. Changes or additions I made: I added skinless boneless chicken thighs (Chopped and cooked ) when chicken was pretty much done , I started following the recipe. I was in a time crunch, so I added spicy diced canned tomatoes ( instead of fresh ) and I used Jasmine rice instead of brown rice (per past reviews I didn't want to risk brown rice not cooking or taking to long ) also per past review , I did NOT add the salt. Recipe, was quick, easy and my family and guests LOVED it. I was making this especially for my son (who is super picky and a great cook) he loved it and Mommas job was complete!!! I will make this dish again , saved it to my recipes, Thanks Chef John for sharing such a delicious easy dish!!! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe had good flavor but it came out far too salty, even though I used homemade stock (which has so much less salt than regular canned broth). It was so salty that I had trouble eating it and will probably just toss out the leftovers. I would recommend leaving out the teaspoon of salt and just tasting it at the end of cooking to see if any needs to be added. Mine was also much soupier than I expected so I will probably only use 2 cups of stock if I try making it again; it took a long time to cook enough of the liquid out for it to be easily edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States