Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
We loved it! No changes except used white rice---we were snowed in and that's what we had in pantry. Fantastic! Can't wait to make again with brown rice! Chef John rules again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a guest dinner hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Awesome...better then any I have ever ate at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great recipe... the only modification I changed was the sausage... I used Connecuh Cajun Sausage... love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Chef John, YOU ROCK!! Whenever I want something Cajun I knoW you'll have exactly what I want. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I liked it a lt, but Hubby found it too spicy. I will try again and cut back on the hot spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I gave this five stars, but I changed the recipe A LOT based on what I had in the kitchen. I substituted dark roux (from a jar) for butter, and that gave it a really nice smoky, earthy flavor. Also added some soy sauce and worchestshire sauce (per another recipe). No tomatoes on hand, so I added a squirt or two of ketchup. Didn't have celery, so left that out. Lots of cayenne 'cause we like it hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Next time I will cut back on the cumin and about a quarter cup of the broth. Other than that, it was easy and good. Much better and healthier than the box type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
It tasted very yummy, however I did have to adjust the recipe. I added in more rice and also used dry crushed bay leaves instead of fresh since that's what I had on hand. My stove was being kind of finicky, so I had to simmer the jambalaya on medium heat for two hours in order to get the rice to cook. I also used chicken broth instead of stock, and it still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantachie, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I liked this, but will probably not make it again. I put the brown rice in and mine took 2 hours to cook. If I do make this again, I will cook the rice separately and then add it to the dish. It's also possible you have to add the rice, bring the pot to a boil and then turn to low. I used brown rice, as the receipe stated, so not sure why it didn't work out for me. This dish is pretty spicy as written, so take that into account if you are dealing with eaters who can't handle a lot of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States