Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this for Fat Tuesday and it was tasty. I used leftover rice so I didn't use the chicken broth and didn't cook the rice in the dish. If I made it again, I would use some tomato sauce and/or paste to make the broth thicker, if I wasn't cooking the rice with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this for dinner on Fat Tuesday. Husband & I enjoyed very much with our Hurricanes. The next night I added more chicken stock and some frozen mixed vegetables for a fabulous hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This recipe is fantastic made a double batch an was gone in three days. Making it again tonite. I really don't know what Jambalaya taste like but this is excellent. Thank-You John for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWIWI11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Delicious dish. I cut the salt in half, and may make it spicier the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zak & Helly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARIERICE
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Perfect for Mardi Gras/Fat Tuesday, especially with another can of no salt added diced tomatoes! YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Wow! What great flavor! I made it tonight - used a can of diced tomatoes, 12 oz of andouille sausage and no shrimp - just because that is what we had in the house. We made it with brown rice and it took 45 minutes - I think we would like it even better with white rice - but yummy! We LOVED it with warm crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe was so simple and the final product was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Delicious and very easy to make! We added chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Forgo to add onion to his ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I'm a big fan of Chef John and this dish is 1 more to add to the collection! I read a number of the reviews and tweeked it just a little. I used olive oil instead of butter and added a full 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes. I used regular hot sausage since that was all I had and cut up a chicken breast and added it 10 minutes before the end. I also added some hot sauce and cut up a small jalapeno pepper as I like a nice kick! I missed one of the reviews that said to bring the batch to a boil after adding the rice as this info is left out in the recipe description. Be sure to do this or it will take longer to cook. I left it for an additional 10-15 minutes. Really delicious and very simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States