Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
A little too spicy, but the flavor was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Loved it! Have made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This was very good! I followed the recipe exact - except I also added some chicken. We thoroughly enjoyed this for our dinner, with a loaf of rosemary bread. Had a bottle of Riesling, which went well with this. We also added Cajun seasoning to it at the table for some more heat and flavor. I'm so glad there's enough left over for my lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My 4 year old and wife devoured this meal. The only change is that I substituted chicken for shrimp. Besides that it's perfect as is .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yummy and easy. I didn't have shrimp, so I used chicken sausage only. I also didn't have diced tomatoes on hand, so I added a 1/2 cup of a nice, organic spaghetti sauce in its place. I replaced the green pepper with a red pepper, again, what I had on hand. I honesty don't think you could mess this lovely, easy Jambalya up! Thanks for the great recipe Chef John! I will make is as directed next time! I'm sure it will only be that much more tasty! Made it again. It was great with all the right ingredients too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used 1 can 450ml Italian Chunky tomatoes. I added crimini mushrooms cut in half, substituted Medium Italian Sausage and baby bok choy in place of the celery. I used 2 tsp smoked paprika in place of the 2 tbsp, 3 oxo cubes in water for the chicken broth. I marinated the shrimp in some spicy Italian salad dressing and 1 tbsp lemon juice, prior to adding to the mixture. The flavor was so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was one of the best new things I've made in a long time. Had to remind my husband not to eat any more lest he make himself sick. It was really good. Followed recipe exactly, but threw in a handful of ready-grilled chicken breast (just because it felt right) and only tomatoes I had--a can of stewed tomatoes. Perfect. Cooked in exactly 45 minutes as promised (I can't figure out the 2 hour experiences--ours was perfect, and I just used regular old brown rice). Thanks Chef John !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. So simply and easy to make. Only thing I did different is added black pepper and jalapeños. Perfect to impress anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe was excellent! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the shrimp. I substituted chicken as I was feeding a large group and I was unsure if anyone had a food allergy. I doubled the recipe and and took it to a family reunion in a crock pot. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I will be making it again this weekend as we have our first weekend of cool weather. A piping hot bowl of jambalaya will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Brown Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Have made several times..always rave reviews..want more..used full can diced tomatoes as I am a tomato lover…green onions as garnish tops it all off!! Thanks…may cook rice ahead, if desired.Side salad makes perfection..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States