Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Only change I made was to add 1-1/2 chicken breasts at the beginning - added to butter a couple minutes before adding sausage. This was delicious and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
What can I say? Another hit from Chef John! This one I made as written with the only exception being the use of white rice as that's what I had on hand. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe! I used Johnsonville's Andouille sausage. Delicious! Thanks again Chef John for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Cooked as written, except used canned petite tomatoes instead of fresh. Next time, adding chicken and a can of rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
So delicious. Only changes I made was to use chicken instead of sausage because we had just had our fill of sausage a few days ago. Very easy, quickly came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I have never made jambalaya, but I wanted to make it AWESOME. So of course I went with Chef John's recipe. He's never failed me before. I made a whole frigging VAT of this stuff, and spent the night power-texting my friends about how good my dinner was. They were so jealous that I brought them some the next day at work, and one of my friends declared it better than his spouse's, which is sayin' a lot. This is a freaking awesome recipe. I loved it. I'm craving it right now. I'm sad that it's all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
DELISH!!!! Wow! I be no means consider myself a good cook, I can follow a recipe and this recipe was easy. Changes or additions I made: I added skinless boneless chicken thighs (Chopped and cooked ) when chicken was pretty much done , I started following the recipe. I was in a time crunch, so I added spicy diced canned tomatoes ( instead of fresh ) and I used Jasmine rice instead of brown rice (per past reviews I didn't want to risk brown rice not cooking or taking to long ) also per past review , I did NOT add the salt. Recipe, was quick, easy and my family and guests LOVED it. I was making this especially for my son (who is super picky and a great cook) he loved it and Mommas job was complete!!! I will make this dish again , saved it to my recipes, Thanks Chef John for sharing such a delicious easy dish!!! I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe had good flavor but it came out far too salty, even though I used homemade stock (which has so much less salt than regular canned broth). It was so salty that I had trouble eating it and will probably just toss out the leftovers. I would recommend leaving out the teaspoon of salt and just tasting it at the end of cooking to see if any needs to be added. Mine was also much soupier than I expected so I will probably only use 2 cups of stock if I try making it again; it took a long time to cook enough of the liquid out for it to be easily edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Amazingly addictive! Chef John and this recipe rocks. Doubled the recipe but closely followed as written. Used RoTel Diced Tomatoes w/ Habaneros and Aidells Cajun Style Andouille sausage, both of which added welcomed spiciness & heat. One issue in the written recipe is confusing . . . last ingredient listed is green onions. But in step 3, it instructs to stir in tomatoes, ONIONS, and other ingredients. In step 5, last direction is to garnish with green onions and seems to correspond with it being last in the ingredients list. We took a guess and added green onions in step 3. After making it, decided to watch the accompanying video. By luck, this was the intent as the video shows him reserving some of the thinly sliced green onion tops for garnish. This is among our favorite soups - - probably in top 5, and will be in our rotation file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Followed this recipe as written and it was perfect! Wouldn't change a thing. I love a recipe that's easy and tastes great. Thanks for another keeper Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The brown rice didn't take 45 minutes; it took over 2 hours to cook. I had to start a side pot with white rice as a back up. Very frustrating. The flavor was okay, but when you're eating while you're mad all because of rice....doesn't make the meal enjoyable at all. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskanDelicacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kotzebue, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States