Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I gave this five stars, but I changed the recipe A LOT based on what I had in the kitchen. I substituted dark roux (from a jar) for butter, and that gave it a really nice smoky, earthy flavor. Also added some soy sauce and worchestshire sauce (per another recipe). No tomatoes on hand, so I added a squirt or two of ketchup. Didn't have celery, so left that out. Lots of cayenne 'cause we like it hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Next time I will cut back on the cumin and about a quarter cup of the broth. Other than that, it was easy and good. Much better and healthier than the box type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Benton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
It tasted very yummy, however I did have to adjust the recipe. I added in more rice and also used dry crushed bay leaves instead of fresh since that's what I had on hand. My stove was being kind of finicky, so I had to simmer the jambalaya on medium heat for two hours in order to get the rice to cook. I also used chicken broth instead of stock, and it still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantachie, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I liked this, but will probably not make it again. I put the brown rice in and mine took 2 hours to cook. If I do make this again, I will cook the rice separately and then add it to the dish. It's also possible you have to add the rice, bring the pot to a boil and then turn to low. I used brown rice, as the receipe stated, so not sure why it didn't work out for me. This dish is pretty spicy as written, so take that into account if you are dealing with eaters who can't handle a lot of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I made a roasted chicken. Short story is I was running late asked hubby for help and as a result dusted the entire chicken and veggies with the other dark red powder, cayenne! My roasted chickenis turned into soup at the end. I was a little faint of heart when it came to turning an overly cayenne encrusted chicken into soup! It seemed to me that Jambalaya may work, though it was a step from traditional, but I knew the cayenne, cumin, and paprika would be fine on the chicken as well. So I bravely pressed forward. Andouille sausage and short grain brown rice are apparently hard to find where I live. So I used a smoked pork kielbasa and long grain rice. I used 50% less sodium fat free broth, I omitted the salt added in the recipe. So it was sausage, chicken and shrimp. It was amazing. Everyone took second helpings and the chicken worked without issue (If for instance you don’t like shrimp or want to make it very heart healthy and get rid of the sausage which was my only demon in this.) Basically any and all three meats work fine with the spice load! Definitely a keeper recipe! And a great changeable recipe when you need it! Chef John...No nonsense cooking for no nonsense people. Aren't we all sick to death of grown male chefs that behave like 12 year old female drama queens!I know I am! There are a host of general good and basic cooking skills you can learn from Chef John. I have several of his recipes, never been disappointed. He's so relaxing I could listen to him forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made some substitutions to accommodate the ingredients I had/didn't have: I used long grain rice instead of brown rice; cooked it for 20 minutes and then 5 minutes with the shrimp; used Vidalia onion instead of green onions; added two chopped cloves of garlic; didn't have Andouille, but used some leftover pepperoni. The rest of the recipe remained the same. It was D.E.L.I.C.I.O.U.S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Just FYI: I didn't follow the recipe so much as I used it for guidance and used what I had on hand and it turned out great. I had some Greek Style Sausages that had feta and spinach in them. I took off the casings and cooked it then added in onion and green pepper and celery. Be sure and use Hot Hungarian Paprika for flavor. I never knew there was a difference until I splurged and bought it wow what an improvement! The other bulk bottle I had for years from the Big Box Store, in the trash, yuck! Also to speed things up I used some leftover brown rice I had in the fridge, heated it up with the stewed tomatoes and threw in the sausage mixture and added Worcestershire and a few shakes of Cholula Hot Suace yumm. Dished up my young boys who don't care for shrimp then threw in some de-veined cooked shrimp and the rest of us dug in. Looking forward to trying it again and follow the recipe a little closer when I have more time. But don't hesitate to try this and ad-lib as you need to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. My family loves it. I add a couple of baked chicken breasts (baked with Tony Chachere's Seasoning) and a bag of frozen okra. Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe is the BEST. Added just a bit more cayenne for that extra kick and more meat( hubby is a carnivore..lol) and it was wonderful. Will definitely repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirgoGurl0921
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oh_boy_T
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Such a wonderful, quick and easy meal. So glad I found this recipe. My girlfriend was really impressed. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States