Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by janetlswright
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Used couscous instead of rice, added garlic, red onions and used a bit less cayenne - LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is wonderfully spicy and tasty. I cooked Minute Rice separate in the interest of having it done sooner. I didn't have quite enough shrimp, so I diced up chicken breast and added it. I used frozen asparagus pieces in place of green pepper since I have a family member who hates peppers. Added extra celery. I did not add the cayenne pepper because I couldn't find mine, and I honestly felt it would be plenty hot and spicy without it, and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was a great recipe! Made "as is" and it turned out fantastic. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is an outstanding recipe for a fairly quick, easy, and delicious jambalaya. Purists may disagree, as this version does not begin by cooking a roux to a nice, deep color; but frankly, it's the time and care that's required to do this step properly that often deters me. I frequently need a quicker approach and, until I tried this recipe, I hadn't found one that still delivered a great, fresh flavor. This one does. I made it according to directions but found that I needed a bit more liquid (I had to add almost a cup of water) to get the rice to a fully tender stage without burning the lot, and yet, the broth that was left was still too thin for my liking. I thickened it with some sliced okra and that worked well. Other than these minor points, it's a really excellent recipe. My family raved about it and dived in for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I did a "one and a half" on this recipe instead of doubling it. It's absolutely perfect. Just the right amount of spice, flavor, and seasonings. I'm forever adding extra salt to stuff, but not for this recipe. I used Basmati rice, so my cooking time was only about 45 minutes. That was the only "tweak" I made, and I don't see where any others would be necessary either. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDitzler
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Just made this tonight and it was an instant hit! My husband loved it! This ones going in our "make again" book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDitzler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Stevenson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This chili is super flavorful. I was worried it wouldn't have enough heat for my taste but followed the recipe anyway. I didn'have white beans so substituted them with black beans. It was a huge success and my family loved it. I'm also into a colourful presentation and this chili was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Simple, quick, & delicious! Have made it several times. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This morning i bought some huge prawns, not because I needed them I just couldn't resist them they looked so plump and succulent and thought what should i do with these. Then thought Ahh I know Paella or Jambalaya, preferring to make the Jambalaya i then set to work in finding a recipe. Of course straight away my first visit is to Chef John and yet again as it is every-time he came to my rescue. I'm going to go with this recipe but will be using a bag of mixed seafood and the prawns i got I will use to garnish the top. Thanks yet again Chef John cant wait to try this and will let you know how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jooles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgwater, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
First time making Jambalaya. It was excellent. I added more broth then it called due to the rice soaking it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States