Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Bakerrific
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakerrific

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
added chopped onion and cooked the rice separately, also doubled tomatoes because I like them. Very good, not too spicy as written. Remember to remove bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieBean
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this today and it was fantastic! Loved the recipe, was not too difficult and followed the instructions pretty closely. I will be definitely be making this again - next time I will substitute the brown rice for white rice which probably goes better with the dish. I will also add less stock, maybe 2.5 cups of stock instead of three. And lastly, the portions where pretty small, next time I will increase the amount of ingredients so that there will be more left over. The taste of the Jambalaya was absolutely fantastic, I will make it again. For sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Everyone raved about this jambalaya last night, and I followed the recipe down to a t. I was a bit worried when as I had doubled the recipe and once I did that I noticed that it called for 1/4 cup paprika! I've never used that much paprika in anything in my life, but it was perfect! Not too hot, just right. Everyone went back for seconds! Thank goodness I doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
It was very tasteful and I didn't change a thing.....Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was very good but we thought it was a little on the extra spicey side. I would scale back the cayenne just a smidge then serve with hot sauce for those who like the extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is one of my favorite dishes to make ever, it is so tasty I didn't need to change anything all the flavors work really well together. Cornbread makes a delicious side to this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Once again Chef John, wonderful! This is worth doing. Not difficult and VERY good. Enjoyed it! Only thing, brown rice took a long time to cook but minor issue. Definitely will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I am very disappointed. First of all Jambalaya is not a soup. It is not gumbo. It should not be liquidy when finished. I followed the instructions and my rice was way over cooked like mush, and I had to scoop out 2 cups of liquid. That's not what jambalaya is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
We loved it..we do not like a lot of salt so I added none and it was plenty salty. Easy to do and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States