Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Vicki Campbell Yates
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This recipe was great and easy to modify to our taste. I added jalapeño, carrots, and chicken. I also used white rice for my husband's taste and used 29 oz of diced tomatoes. I used 1.5 cups of rice as well. This recipe was delicious. We served it over corn cakes because we love corn cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I have not had Jambalaya this good since my last time in New Orleans . I did it as per the recipe and the results were fantastic . I love it when a plan comes together , now I am off in search of a nice cold beer to finish my day perfectly . Thanks for sharing .you have another fan . Lyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was the best soup ever! I have never made jambalaya and did not have the correct sausage on hand, so I used just plain smoked sausage. Everything else was just perfect!! If the excessive amount of cumin and paprika scare you, it is essential to the integrity of the soup to use it. I put extra hot sauce on the side. What a dish. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My husband and I liked this. I used turkey sausage, so didn't need to cook it ahead of time. I used about 1.5 TBSP of paprika and 1/8 tsp of cayenne to keep it less spicy for the kids and me. I used a whole can of tomatoes, and left our celery. I omit salt (as always) but did sprinkle some celery salt. I had about 5 c of chx stock, so I went ahead and added 1.5 c of rice. I could have added more. I tossed the sausage in with the shrimp at the end. You do definitely have to boil the rice before turning down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I can't believe it, I just made jambalaya for the first time in my life! Heck, I just tasted jambalaya for the first time also! Thank you Chef John for the video. It was easy to make, and thanks to the video, I knew how it should look at each step. Hubby loved it!!!! Funny how we came to have it. He called me from work asking if I ever had jambalaya, then he stated that we had sausage, and wondered what else goes into it. Well I knew just where to go, and the rest is history! Who knew?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
My husband and I really enjoyed this. It has a little bit of heat and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was a quick and easy recipe to follow. I added about 1/2 pound of cooked chicken breasts and made sure the shrimp was seasoned. I didn't have regular brown rice so I used Brown Minute Rice and it turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was excellent, and perhaps better the second day. I prefer brown rice for almost every dish and this was no exception. It took about 50 minutes to get just right. My friend said this was the best jambalaya she has ever had. She said the rice wasn't "mush like in most jambalaya." I credit the brown rice for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So I only rated this a 4 simply because I tweeked it a bit based upon some things that I like. I bought the canned diced tomatoes flavored with garlic basil and onion. I also added a bit more of the chicken stock, along with some garlic, onion powder, and a tad bit of sugar to help break up being so spicy. Also, when I saw the recipe I thought oh I have brown rice at home not thinking it was precooked brown rice but that didnt cause any issues except cut my cooking time probaby in half. I think its a great recipe to add to your collection. My husband LOVED IT!!!! And I am always into looking for something new for us to eat. so this one has been added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Liked it very much even though i had to use kielbasa instead of andouille sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States