Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MrsDitzler
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Just made this tonight and it was an instant hit! My husband loved it! This ones going in our "make again" book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDitzler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Stevenson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This chili is super flavorful. I was worried it wouldn't have enough heat for my taste but followed the recipe anyway. I didn'have white beans so substituted them with black beans. It was a huge success and my family loved it. I'm also into a colourful presentation and this chili was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Simple, quick, & delicious! Have made it several times. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This morning i bought some huge prawns, not because I needed them I just couldn't resist them they looked so plump and succulent and thought what should i do with these. Then thought Ahh I know Paella or Jambalaya, preferring to make the Jambalaya i then set to work in finding a recipe. Of course straight away my first visit is to Chef John and yet again as it is every-time he came to my rescue. I'm going to go with this recipe but will be using a bag of mixed seafood and the prawns i got I will use to garnish the top. Thanks yet again Chef John cant wait to try this and will let you know how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jooles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgwater, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
First time making Jambalaya. It was excellent. I added more broth then it called due to the rice soaking it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakerrific
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakerrific

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
added chopped onion and cooked the rice separately, also doubled tomatoes because I like them. Very good, not too spicy as written. Remember to remove bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieBean
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this today and it was fantastic! Loved the recipe, was not too difficult and followed the instructions pretty closely. I will be definitely be making this again - next time I will substitute the brown rice for white rice which probably goes better with the dish. I will also add less stock, maybe 2.5 cups of stock instead of three. And lastly, the portions where pretty small, next time I will increase the amount of ingredients so that there will be more left over. The taste of the Jambalaya was absolutely fantastic, I will make it again. For sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Everyone raved about this jambalaya last night, and I followed the recipe down to a t. I was a bit worried when as I had doubled the recipe and once I did that I noticed that it called for 1/4 cup paprika! I've never used that much paprika in anything in my life, but it was perfect! Not too hot, just right. Everyone went back for seconds! Thank goodness I doubled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
It was very tasteful and I didn't change a thing.....Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States