Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
So I only rated this a 4 simply because I tweeked it a bit based upon some things that I like. I bought the canned diced tomatoes flavored with garlic basil and onion. I also added a bit more of the chicken stock, along with some garlic, onion powder, and a tad bit of sugar to help break up being so spicy. Also, when I saw the recipe I thought oh I have brown rice at home not thinking it was precooked brown rice but that didnt cause any issues except cut my cooking time probaby in half. I think its a great recipe to add to your collection. My husband LOVED IT!!!! And I am always into looking for something new for us to eat. so this one has been added to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Liked it very much even though i had to use kielbasa instead of andouille sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The flavor is OK and the rice turned to mush and the sausage and rice burned while it was simmering (on low!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Bass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I used up my leftover rice from another meal and this was awesome. My boys gobbled it up with no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyMcC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
A little too spicy, but the flavor was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Loved it! Have made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This was very good! I followed the recipe exact - except I also added some chicken. We thoroughly enjoyed this for our dinner, with a loaf of rosemary bread. Had a bottle of Riesling, which went well with this. We also added Cajun seasoning to it at the table for some more heat and flavor. I'm so glad there's enough left over for my lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
My 4 year old and wife devoured this meal. The only change is that I substituted chicken for shrimp. Besides that it's perfect as is .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yummy and easy. I didn't have shrimp, so I used chicken sausage only. I also didn't have diced tomatoes on hand, so I added a 1/2 cup of a nice, organic spaghetti sauce in its place. I replaced the green pepper with a red pepper, again, what I had on hand. I honesty don't think you could mess this lovely, easy Jambalya up! Thanks for the great recipe Chef John! I will make is as directed next time! I'm sure it will only be that much more tasty! Made it again. It was great with all the right ingredients too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used 1 can 450ml Italian Chunky tomatoes. I added crimini mushrooms cut in half, substituted Medium Italian Sausage and baby bok choy in place of the celery. I used 2 tsp smoked paprika in place of the 2 tbsp, 3 oxo cubes in water for the chicken broth. I marinated the shrimp in some spicy Italian salad dressing and 1 tbsp lemon juice, prior to adding to the mixture. The flavor was so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States