Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was a great recipe! Made "as is" and it turned out fantastic. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is an outstanding recipe for a fairly quick, easy, and delicious jambalaya. Purists may disagree, as this version does not begin by cooking a roux to a nice, deep color; but frankly, it's the time and care that's required to do this step properly that often deters me. I frequently need a quicker approach and, until I tried this recipe, I hadn't found one that still delivered a great, fresh flavor. This one does. I made it according to directions but found that I needed a bit more liquid (I had to add almost a cup of water) to get the rice to a fully tender stage without burning the lot, and yet, the broth that was left was still too thin for my liking. I thickened it with some sliced okra and that worked well. Other than these minor points, it's a really excellent recipe. My family raved about it and dived in for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I did a "one and a half" on this recipe instead of doubling it. It's absolutely perfect. Just the right amount of spice, flavor, and seasonings. I'm forever adding extra salt to stuff, but not for this recipe. I used Basmati rice, so my cooking time was only about 45 minutes. That was the only "tweak" I made, and I don't see where any others would be necessary either. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDitzler
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Just made this tonight and it was an instant hit! My husband loved it! This ones going in our "make again" book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDitzler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Stevenson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This chili is super flavorful. I was worried it wouldn't have enough heat for my taste but followed the recipe anyway. I didn'have white beans so substituted them with black beans. It was a huge success and my family loved it. I'm also into a colourful presentation and this chili was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Simple, quick, & delicious! Have made it several times. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This morning i bought some huge prawns, not because I needed them I just couldn't resist them they looked so plump and succulent and thought what should i do with these. Then thought Ahh I know Paella or Jambalaya, preferring to make the Jambalaya i then set to work in finding a recipe. Of course straight away my first visit is to Chef John and yet again as it is every-time he came to my rescue. I'm going to go with this recipe but will be using a bag of mixed seafood and the prawns i got I will use to garnish the top. Thanks yet again Chef John cant wait to try this and will let you know how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jooles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgwater, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
First time making Jambalaya. It was excellent. I added more broth then it called due to the rice soaking it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakerrific
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakerrific

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
added chopped onion and cooked the rice separately, also doubled tomatoes because I like them. Very good, not too spicy as written. Remember to remove bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States