Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used 1 can 450ml Italian Chunky tomatoes. I added crimini mushrooms cut in half, substituted Medium Italian Sausage and baby bok choy in place of the celery. I used 2 tsp smoked paprika in place of the 2 tbsp, 3 oxo cubes in water for the chicken broth. I marinated the shrimp in some spicy Italian salad dressing and 1 tbsp lemon juice, prior to adding to the mixture. The flavor was so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was one of the best new things I've made in a long time. Had to remind my husband not to eat any more lest he make himself sick. It was really good. Followed recipe exactly, but threw in a handful of ready-grilled chicken breast (just because it felt right) and only tomatoes I had--a can of stewed tomatoes. Perfect. Cooked in exactly 45 minutes as promised (I can't figure out the 2 hour experiences--ours was perfect, and I just used regular old brown rice). Thanks Chef John !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOSETRAX75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe. So simply and easy to make. Only thing I did different is added black pepper and jalapeños. Perfect to impress anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This recipe was excellent! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the shrimp. I substituted chicken as I was feeding a large group and I was unsure if anyone had a food allergy. I doubled the recipe and and took it to a family reunion in a crock pot. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I will be making it again this weekend as we have our first weekend of cool weather. A piping hot bowl of jambalaya will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Brown Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Have made several times..always rave reviews..want more..used full can diced tomatoes as I am a tomato lover…green onions as garnish tops it all off!! Thanks…may cook rice ahead, if desired.Side salad makes perfection..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe! One additional thing to try: boil the shrimp in their shells (that's where much of the flavor is), pull them out to shell them, and cook the rice in the shrimp-boil water (augmented as needed with stock) to maximize the shrimp flavor in the finished jambalaya. Brown rice needs to cook a lot longer than white, but it's worth the time. I also cooked the shrimp and rice separate from the other ingredients and then mixed them all together for about 25 minutes to get the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I agree with Chato on cooking the rice separately and shrimp needing more time to cook. I used a cup of white, uncooked rice instead of brown, and cooked it separately on its own. That way you only need to add a cup to cup and a half of chicken stock to the jambalaya (I used chicken broth). I also let the shrimp cook with the rest of ingredients for 10 minutes rather than 5, that way the texture of the shrimp feels more done. I scoop the rice in a bowl and top it with the jambalaya for each serving portion. I find that if I add all the rice to entire jambalaya pot, it get's too mushy when you re-heat left overs. I also added about half a can of corn, and it added a nice flavor and texture. Other than that, great dish and just the right amount of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made this for 70 seniors and they all want the recipe! Delicious! Trader Joes had the Andoulle sausage and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe was great, it wasn't difficult I had to cook the rice a little longer. My children loved it and they said it was great. januarylin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janetlswright
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Used couscous instead of rice, added garlic, red onions and used a bit less cayenne - LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States