Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I gave it 5 stars for the taste and moistness of the chicken. My hubby even commented on how the breast meat turned out. I did use about 1 Tablespoon of salt; then after the chicken was done cooking, I rested it on a cutting board, knocking off any loose salt. I also did NOT add additional salt to the butter sauce nor any cayenne (personal preference). One note: it made a mess in my oven. Since the temperature is so high, it splattered chicken fat/grease all over. I think maybe loosely tenting the chicken until maybe the last 15 minutes, then take off the foil to finish browning good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira Funk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Chef John does it again! I was skeptical about just adding salt to the chicken before roasting, but I followed others' advice and the result was AMAZING! The chicken alone was moist and juicy, but the sauce...that put it over the top. Will definitely be adding this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gotrr
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Since discovering this recipe, I don't roast chicken any other way. I do put a little less butter in the sauce than Chef John recommends, but the combination of this dry roasted chicken and the buttery lemon sauce will make you swoon -- especially if the chicken is organic. Just to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Absolutely amazing, I have made this several times now because it is so yummy!! I also keep 2-3 chickens in the freezer because this meal is always requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Yes, yes, and yes! The best white chicken meat we ever ate! I used "Himalayan Natural Crystal Salt" and reduced it to 1.25 tbsp at medium grind since it's much denser than the flaky "Kosher Salt". Chef John, you're a genius. Paired it with a fragrant Pulao and it was the most exciting Tuesday we've had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiggles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Wonderful recipe. Incredibly juicy chicken! Has anyone found Chef John's recipe for his Roasted Red Pepper and Trout Bean Ragout? I'd love to try that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Igmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
One of the best chickens I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Roode

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made gravy for mashed potatoes with the drippings. I thought it was too salty but my daughter liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Moist meat and easy to make. I was real careful with the salt, wiped all of it away from pan and even brushed it from the chicken after baking. 3 Tbl spoons of kosher salt was way too much in my opinion. I use kosher salt for most everything. I didn't use the whole 3 tbl sp and the sauce was still too salty. Good flavor on the sauce, hence the salty taste. I am going to use this sauce with my old stand by roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kissdachef
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Best Roasted Chicken I have ever had. The first time I made this my children asked for seconds. I've made this 3 times already in the last month. I even made it with legs and thighs and it came out equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States