Chef John's Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was really good. It was pretty salty though, next time I'll try cutting the amount of salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
As a novice cook, this dish seemed like it would be a challenge, but it was pretty easy to put together. Our salmon steak was quite a bit thicker than the 8 oz, so we more than doubled the cooking time before the fish was flaking. As far as taste, both our picky 4 YO and our autistic 8 YO loved it, eating more than an adult serving each. We combined it with a spinach salad with vinegar and olive oil dressing, along with some left over potato salad. I accompanied my dinner with some merlot that our neighbor had to get rid of before it went bad. Over all, a "perfecto" dinner, as my daughter put it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wahiawa Mike

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
an excellent, yet simple, recipe. My kids (2, 4, and 6) ate it very well. I used basil and thyme for the herbs because that's what I had growing outside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Excellent! I ended up using thyme instead of tarragon as I didn't have any. It was so good! I rarely have seconds of salmon, even when I cook it, but I totally had seconds of this! My husband and houseguest also loved it. Truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is simple and fantastic! I loved using a mortar and pestle, too. I will start doing this more often with more herbs. I do believe the mortar and pestle help extract bold flavors. I recommend this recipe to both the seasoned and novice cook! Your taste buds will thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
it is very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This salmon is delicious! I used a wild salmon filet and was worried that the topping would overwhelm the natural salmon goodness, but it only added to it. I minced the garlic and mixed with the other ingredients (no food processesor necessary, imo). I subbed fresh thyme for tarragon, as I did not have any fresh tarragon. I think fresh dill would be great, too. I ended up baking at 400 for abut ten minutes, according to a similar recipe, and it worked out fine, although, I will broil next time for the added browning effect of the topping. I would definitely try this technique with other fish, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Amazing! Loved this recipe, will definitely be made often in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by senci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
It is an excellent, delicious salmon! I didn't have tarragon at home, and I used dill instead! Served with pasta, it was great, very fast and simple recipe. I recommend it to everyone. Thanks chef John:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! I do not like the taste of mayo, so used non fat plain greek yogurt instead. Very tangy and full of flavor. My whole family loved it and deemed the recipe " a keeper"! Will make many times.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States