Chef John's Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My husband HATES salmon! Growing up with 8 kids in the family his mom used to make a lot of Salmon patties with the white sauce so, he never cared for salmon at all. I have tried other recipes in the past to incorporate salmon into our diets but, he could not stand any of them until this recipe. He loved this! He told me that I could make this recipe at any time. I switched up the herbs to what I had on hand. Basil, Rosemary, Thyme, Sage.. have tried multiple different herbs together with the mayo mixture..... no other words but, DELICIOUS AND ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I used parsley, garlic, dill and onion. Topped it with some sliced onion rings. It was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Wow, this is one of the best salmon recipes I've tried. It is pretty quick and easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Nice change from my regular salmon. I had used soy, but no longer due to a new gluten free diet. I used 1/2 greek yogurt, half mayo. Also used dry tarragon and parsley. Next time I'll use all mayo, as it never browned on top. Also would add more garlic. I'm a garlic lover and didn't even notice it in the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erial, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
super delicious! crushed the garlic, used dried tarragon, and stirred all the ingredients together.. no need for a blender or mortar/pestle.. ty so much for the recipe.. we so loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Be prepared to leave the salmon in the oven a little longer than specified, depending on the thickness of the cut. The combination of broiler and oven in this recipe made for a great presentation. I look forward to experimenting with other fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Quick and delish! I do a number of varieties of this concept - dill, salsa in mayo topped with slice avos, wasabi and soy sace, etc. I had never tried tarragon. It made the dish. Chef John, as usual you sense the nuances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I used a large Salmon Fillet that was thinner than what John used in the recipe, but it worked out very well skipping the baking after broiling. We changed it up a bit to fit what I had in my pantry and garden. For my paste I used the juice of one large lemon, chopped up tarragon from the garden, three grated garlic cloves, salt, mayo and deli mustard. It came out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this flavor profile. I made up some scallops in a separate baking dish and baked the same time as the salmon. It took my convection broiler 7 minutes total, but still didn't get the browning, not sure why. I turned to convection oven @ 350, baked for about 8 minutes, still not cooked through. Bopped to 400 and it took an additional 5 minutes. So much longer cooking times than stated in recipe, but the recipe is well worth trying if you amend your cook time and temp. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
It's a keeper! Very tasty. I used thefresh basil and thyme for the herbs and added a little melted butter when combining the herbs and garlic into a loose paste. Better than many restaurants in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States