Chef John's Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I reviewed this about 6 months ago. Tried it again tonight with the following changes. Marinated the salmon for 2 hours in a bourbon glaze. Next I did not boil and blanch the asparagus, just placed it next to the salmon and it turned out great. Omitted the potatoes and had a healthy one pot meal. Served the glaze on the side. (Note: using a tablet, can't figure out how to edit my earlier review.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DelMarGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was so simple and easy, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelMarGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've made this recipe several times for family & friends and everyone loves it. It's so healthy and easy to do! I always follow a new recipe exactly the first time or two, but the last few times I've made this, I've changed the vegetables: green beans, mushrooms, zucchini, onions or whatever I have. I haven't pre-cooked these vegetables and they cook just fine in the packages. I also added capers for an added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Ridiculously easy - absolutely loved this. Will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Hard to trust it would cook properly without opening the parchment to check, but it turned out perfectly done and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was simply the best Chef John. Never tasted Salmon so flavourful and juicy even out the 5* restaurants. I followed your technique precisely. Thank you. ps I enjoy ALL your videos. You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Too many potatoes to fit in parchment! Doubled the asparagus & sprinkled salmon with dill, sea salt, & lemon pepper. Will add cut up grape tomatoes next time. Turned out perfect. I'm cooking my salmon in parchment from now on! This was a complete meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a tad bland but a very delicious way to cook salmon! I had to watch the video in order to understand how to fold the parchment but it worked wonderfully and the salmon was cooked perfectly. I will probably season it to my own tastes next time though in order to get a little more flavor out of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I don't like red-meat fish. this looked easy and the wife loves salmon, so I made this. I did add some diced zukes and halved some cherry tomatos. added fresh dill to fish, oregano to maters, and rosemary to taters. sprinkled more evoo and salt / pepper. I ate all of mine...a huge plate. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Living in Alaska, I've made salmon in 30 different ways, so i was looking for something exciting, new and easy after woking an 11 hour day. I have to say, Chef John nails it! Steaming a fillet for 15 minutes in parchment works like a charm. I coated with avocado oil, used coarse sea salt, a heavy amount of pepper, some old bay, and slices of lemon on some sockeye and threw it in. Then i prepared a homemade caesar salad. The timing couldn't have been better. A gourmet meal in under 30 minutes from start to finish. Add a glass or two of vino, and viola...the perfect meal after a long monday. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States