Chef John's Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Salmon came out pretty good. Need to cook for 20 min vs 15 to make the salmon firmer~ came out a little mushy for our family. Be generous with the salt & pepper as it really ads to the overall flavor. It was a very nice recipe ~ thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmac
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Perfection! I was a little nervous about not being able to see if it was cooked until cutting open the paper, but I followed the exact cooking instructions and it worked perfectly! My husband said it was as good as any restaurant salmon he has ever had. The only complaint came from my 11 yo son; he was frustrated that it just fell apart so easily, haha! Based on other reviews, I did not pre cook my veggies and they turned out just fine. I also like how each pouch can be customized to each person's preferences of seasoning and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Chef John, we can't thank you enough for this recipe. It is now a favorite and staple in our house. We change it up occasionally with the vegetables that we include, depending on what's on hand. I also sometimes season the salmon with Old Bay and paprika, but the cooking method, time and original recipe is spot on. Look forward to your continuing posts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I thought this was brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Vida Serra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The salmon is amazing in this recipe. I put some fresh herbs, a garlic clove, and a bay leaf in with the salmon. I also put a little pat of butter instead of more olive oil. Perfectly cooked and so moist. Also, would recommend not cooking the asparagus at all before cooking in the parchment. It gets a little over-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I am kicking myself for not taking a photo, but when I made this I was really hungry and just wanted to eat :) The video helps a lot and it loops so you can prep with out having to pause it. This technique is my new and only was for cooking salmon now. I have got to be one of the worst people when it comes to cooking fish other then an easy white fish. My husband was actually astonished at how easy and delicious this meal was. I had mine with fresh broccoli and green beans and dropped them in boiling water for 2 min then pulled them out and immediately put them into icy water. Then followed the recipe as told to. I added a little Goya adobo (a Hispanics must in the kitchen), and a little blackened old bay. I then topped it with a little basil, dill and finally a few thinly sliced lemon rounds and a squeeze of juice. I didn't have the stuff to make mustard aioli, so I made my own using 1/2 cup Greek yogurt, 1 Tblspn tzatziki spice mix, 2 large cloves garlic, 1/2 tblspn lemon zest and juice, and then just processed it together. I let it chill in the fridge for a little while and gently dripped some on top after cutting open the parchment packs. Delicious meal! I think next I will try it with a stuffed salmon. :) Thank you Chef John, you have restored my husbands faith in my seafood cooking abilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I just made this tonight and it was great! I was looking for healthy baked or grilled salmon recipes when I came across this. I watched the video and then followed the recipe exactly and it was so easy. I made mine this time with asparagus but I will make this again with other veggies and I'm sure it will be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe was easy and fantastic! This is only the second time I've ever cooked salmon and I was nervous because the first time I grilled it and it was horrible. I did not add the asparagus or potatoes so I cannot speak to the veggies but I followed all the directions for cooking the fish in the parchment with the exception of adding dill to the salt and pepper just because I really like dill. The fish was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing cooked this way. I never thought I'd eat salmon and enjoy it! Know I know I have what it takes! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
No fail recipe for salmon. I coat with olive oil and sprinkle lemon pepper on it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Fantastic. We loved it. Cooked exactly as written, minus the miso, as I didn't have any. This will definitely be a go to for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States