Chef John's Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I make patties using canned salmon .I use left over mashed potatoes instead of crumbs as per a scots suggestion delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I have been making salmon cakes for over 60 years - I also add about 2 teaspoons of Coleman dry mustard to the mix as well as some grated onion, to your taste. My son, a Chef loves these cakes, baked or lightly fried. tks, Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Really flavorful, I sub crushed rice cakes for the saltine crackers and gf bread crumbs for the regular but kept everything else the same. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I love this with canned salmon, or this summer I had an abundance of fresh trout, so one night while baking 2 large ones for dinner I also baked 4 medium to smallish ones, after dinner I deboned them and vacuumed packed the meat, freezing it for future use in these cakes. They were a great hit, but in future I thin I'll use fillets because it took me longer to debone then it did to cook whole fish and prepare cakes and fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is a good recipe. I don't like capers very well and I thought it was to much egg. 1 egg worked fine. I have been making mine with parsley flakes, 2 slices of bread crumbled and an egg, salt & pepper, an a bash of old bay. Fry in veg. oil. You can also use a can of jack mackerel in these recipes. It's about half the cost of a can of salmon, tastes pretty similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Hubby said he liked these, but I didn't like them at all. They were way too salty. The canned salmon grossed me out because of the bones, skin and fat I had to pick out, then the mixture was too goopy. I think 1 egg would have been plenty for the diminished amount of salmon I had left after weeding out the bad stuff. I added some minced onion for added flavor but ended up not tasting it at all, and I didn't taste the capers much either so maybe they can be left out and that would cut down on the salt taste. However, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
For those who had complaints or were disappointed in this recipe I urge you to always watch the attached videos when available. Invariably Chef John will add hints and instructions that aren't listed in the short printed directions. In this video he points out that this is a VERY basic recipe and he expects us to add things to our taste preferences-Onions, garlic, Worcestershire sauce soy sauce, ginger, Teriyaki, etc. This recipe will give you a basis from which to proceed. Remember, his favorite phrase is, "You're in charge of your gravy!". So play with your food and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimtbarnes
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I am a huge fan of Chef John recipes! I am trying out his cheese soufflé this weekend!! These were great. I didn't have saltines so I used breadcrumbs in the cakes and used Panko on the outside. Added a little mayo and Dijon too and old bay but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Extremely good!! I didn't change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Too fishy with the canned salmon ...probably won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States