Chef John's Roasted Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
OK!!!!!!!!!!! Best flavor ever serious perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made this for our Easter meal last night. Followed the directions except for the Aleppo pepper that is not available in Austin due to the un-rest in Syria--used red chili flakes. Have a new grill with a rotisserie so I tied the leg of lamb around the spit when I was tying it. Turned out great! Moist, tender and flavorful. Watch the cooking time and take temperature readings as it was more medium than medium rare, Made a gravy with drippings with some red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I used John's recipe to cook a leg of lamb for Christmas. Home run for my finicky eaters. I like the way he details how to prepare the meat by cutting slashes. I did substitute honey for the molasses. Chef John is my go-to when trying new dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Even if I didn't love cooking I would watching you. I grow my own pomegranates and make my own jellies--this year I will also add molasses and syrup. This one goes in the oven---but the one sitting in the freezer I will cook south Texas style==outside over mesquite. Since I do alot of cooking for ranch hands and family I want the best ideas. Every time I see one of your recipes try it. I like your quality.Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Delicious! Our guests loved it too! The only change I made was to add a little organic dark brown sugar to the marinade, as I found it too tart without it. All Chef John's instructions about how to prepare the leg of lamb were clear and worked out perfectly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy Bey
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I loved this recipe it was my first time coming a leg of lamb and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Bey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Thank you, Chef John, for making our Christmas dinner a smashing success! I followed your special pomegranate mollases recipe and it was wonderful! I tripled the recipe for 3 boneless lamb roasts of about 5 pounds each and, after marinating them overnight, I gave a fun layer of fresh baby spinach leaves, goat cheese and chopped sweetened dried cranberries before rolling them up. I used the elastic wrappers that came with the lamb roasts to package them up and placed them side-by-side on a roasting rack with a little water at the bottom of the pan. They turned out perfectly! And we made lamb gravy for the mashed potatoes with the drippings. Wow! Heaven! Merry Christmas Chef John and thank you for your excellent advice! Leslie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Fabulous! I love Chef John and the fact I can get this great lamb recipe makes me love him more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yvette
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Chef John I want to thank you for sharing this recipe for all of us to make. I did it exactly as you describe. It came out outstanding!!! I will certainly be making this again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Roasted Leg of Lamb

See how to make roasted leg of lamb with an herb, garlic, and pomegranate rub.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roasted Lamb Breast

See how to make a lamb dish that’s similar to pork belly or spare ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States