Chef John's Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have recently discovered Chef John and so far have loved all of his recipes and no nonsense tips. This recipe is delish as is. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
How do I rate a recipe for Brussels sprouts? I tried this recipe because like another reviewer, my childhood experience with them was traumatizing and after fifty-seven years, now that I'm all grown up, time to try again. At seven, I felt betrayed by Brussels sprouts. I was told that we are having Brussels sprouts and they were one of my Grandma's favorites. Then they arrived at the table looking like cute miniature cabbages. What's not to like? Well you know what happened!!! One bite, one bitter, probably over-boiled bite. LOL. I made this per the recipe except that I steamed the sprouts and shallots (couldn't find the cipollinis) in the skillet instead of boiling each separately, drained, put the skillet back on the burner for a few seconds to evaporate any water left in the bottom of the pan, added the butter, and proceeded per the recipe. I can safely say that they were the best Brussels sprouts I've ever eaten = ) I am giving five stars; I think this is a great recipe and method for cooking these little gems...but not sure I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
this is a great recilpe --just like I like Brussel sprouts---you done good ---thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
thanks chef John, another successful dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Holy cow. My childhood experience with sprouts was traumatizing. I'm really glad I tried this. I only had a "garlic and herb" butter available in my fridge, but it turned out to be a nice addition. Thanks, Chef John. Another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
A great and simple way to prepare Brussels sprouts. Perfect to pair with holiday turkey and ham meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wonderful! Yes, lots of steps, but easy, simple steps to follow while you're preparing the main dish. I used pearl onions, which are already perfectly bite-sized. I personally was never a fan of this veggie, and have only recently tried them "steamed in a bag", but buying them fresh (which I usually do with all my vegetables) and trying this recipe was totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I wondered about all the steps until I put my cast iron skillet in the oven and heard the sizzling happening right away. They came out nicely browned and so yummy! Thank you for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Only 3 out of 9 at our picnic that like Brussel sprouts, but all 3 of us agree this is the best we ever ate. Made them exactly as the recipe. Can't wait to buy more fresh Brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yum! I've always loved Brussels sprouts; they're one of my fav's! This was delicious. However, I couldn't get the non-eaters to even try it. Boo! They totally missed out. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GySgtVsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States