Chef John's Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Yet another amazing Chef John recipe! Served these at a dinner party and they were a huge hit. Delicious exactly as the recipe called out - no need to add or enhance. BTW, find those cipollini onions! They are the sweetest tasting onion ever! I prepared Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon which was the best salmon dish anyone at the table had ever eater. Try pairing these two recipes for a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is the first time that I have rated a recipe although I have been using allrecipes for several years. I have also recently discovered Chef John. He is fabulous! I followed this recipe exactly except I added some fresh grated Parmesan cheese on top before putting in the oven to roast. I also coarsely chopped a regular onion as that was all I had. Just delicious. My husband and I loved them. Will try with pearl onions next time. This is a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This worked very well for me. The sprouts were tender without being mushy and the sprout eaters in the family liked the dish. Of course, not everyone likes sprouts, even if they are done to perfection. I have never remembered to garnish with lemon, and I don't think it is required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is such a wonderful recipe! Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone asked me to make again for Xmas. None left to take home! Second time I made it, I sautéed in some bacon grease (reduced butter) and crumbled the crispy bacon into the pan before placing in oven. It was a hit, Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mattd203
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Delicious. Made this so roasted brussel sprouts and asparagus. Didn't change a thing except I used panko garlic breadcrumbs. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have recently discovered Chef John and so far have loved all of his recipes and no nonsense tips. This recipe is delish as is. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
How do I rate a recipe for Brussels sprouts? I tried this recipe because like another reviewer, my childhood experience with them was traumatizing and after fifty-seven years, now that I'm all grown up, time to try again. At seven, I felt betrayed by Brussels sprouts. I was told that we are having Brussels sprouts and they were one of my Grandma's favorites. Then they arrived at the table looking like cute miniature cabbages. What's not to like? Well you know what happened!!! One bite, one bitter, probably over-boiled bite. LOL. I made this per the recipe except that I steamed the sprouts and shallots (couldn't find the cipollinis) in the skillet instead of boiling each separately, drained, put the skillet back on the burner for a few seconds to evaporate any water left in the bottom of the pan, added the butter, and proceeded per the recipe. I can safely say that they were the best Brussels sprouts I've ever eaten = ) I am giving five stars; I think this is a great recipe and method for cooking these little gems...but not sure I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
this is a great recilpe --just like I like Brussel sprouts---you done good ---thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
thanks chef John, another successful dish. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States