Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I used Chef John's roast turkey receipe for Thanksgiving and it was very easy to do. The turkey came out perfectly roasted, very moist, with a delicious crispy skin. My family RAVED about this turkey and ate the whole thing! The only bad thing about this; no left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessinstl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
What an easy, and beautiful, and flavorful, and crispy, *and* moist turkey!(however, I must admit that I did turn down the heat during the last hour thinking we would have to hold the turkey for late comers, but the bird was done 'on time' anyway?!) Made up the butter mixture, the spice mixture, & cut up the veggies ahead of time; helping us get the turkey into the oven so easily come Thanksgiving day. I was shopping for a recipe because it was time to help my daughter learn to roast a turkey, & I want her to learn to cook better than I myself can cook. Yes, my 12 year old daughter & I had prepped a turkey together once before following another method, which didn't work as well as my 'decent' turkeys of the past. So we went shopping together for a new recipe. She was utterly sold on your approach. I let her take the lead. She loved watching your video, and her jaw dropped when she watched you loosen the skin on the breast with a rubber spatula (yes, another thing I'd missed out on in the past, but thanks to you, my daughter will have an easier time of it!). I do plan to obtain a fresh turkey which we can brine next time, but I want to incorporate much of what we learned from you modifying for a brined bird. Will try to remember to let you know how that goes if we proceed as planned..... Either way, thanks so much for helping my daughter's second turkey far exceed anything my mother or I put on the table throughout our entire lives! Gotta love it! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
The turkey was perfect! The video along with the recipe made it very simple to prepare, I'm looking forward to trying more of Chef John's recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was my first time making a turkey and it turned out amazing! The flavor was so good and it turned out a nice golden brown and was so incredibly tender and juicy. This will be my go to for any turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
wow...that was excellent. for cravy I added 1 Tsp of cornstarch to thicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is the second time I am making the turkey. One was made for the saturday after thanksgiving, which came out great and the next one was made today. I used all of the ingredients with only one addition to the herb butter, garlic. Just used a small amount. The presentation of the bird is wonderful! the flavors were fantastic and it was so very moist and tender! The steps from the video were spot on and very helpful. Can't wait to try more Chef John recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Our family made the turkey this year using recipe for the first time. It was a HUGE hit, with several family members saying it was the best turkey they'd ever had. We followed the recipe exactly, with only 1 addition, we put a stick of butter inside...butter makes everything better. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was one of the best turkeys I have ever delivered to the table! I would have never thought to have placed it on a bed of vegetables instead of a metal rack. The juices from the pan and stock made for a fabulous gravy. The only thing I did differently was I stuffed the bird. Thanks for the great tips, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I'm a novice home cook and this was my first Christmas turkey. It was easy, fun, and the most delicious turkey I have ever tasted. The breast meat was juicy and the fresh herbs made the house smell fantastic for many hours. Can't wait for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Our family ruled this the best turkey we've ever made! The turkey was moist and the homemade gravy turned out. We enjoyed it so much at Thanksgiving, we made it again for Christmas Eve. There's a lot of seasoning, so we sprinkled the turkey nicely and had quite a bit left over. I saved that for the next time we bake a chicken. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States